Program Schedule
SUNDAY, JUNE 18, 2006
4:00 pm
  Registration - Icahn Laboratory Atrium
  Welcome Reception - Icahn Laboratory Atrium
MONDAY, JUNE 19, 2006
7:45 am   Registration - Brush Gallery, McDonnell Hall
  Welcome - A01 McDonnell Hall
Oral Session 1:   Organic Thin Films
Moderator: Yves Chabal
8:45– 9:10
Aklylidyne Self-Assembled Monolayers on Pt(111): A Novel System for Molecular Electronics
M. Yang, A.R. Laracuente, D.Y. Petrovykh, and L.J. Whitman
9:10 – 9:35
Channel Formation in Monolayer-Scale Organic Transistors
Byoung-Nam Park, Soonjoo Seo, and Paul G. Evans
9:35 – 10:00
Improved Organic Thin-Film Transistors Using Novel Phosphonate Self-Assembled Monolayers
M. McDowell, I.G. Hill, J.E. McDermott, J. Schwartz, and S.L. Bernasek
10:30 – 11:20
Single Molecule Spectroelectrochemistry (SMS-EC) – (Invited)
Rodrigo E. Palacios, Fu-Ren F. Fan, Allen J. Bard, and Paul F. Barbara
11:20 – 11:45
Surface Science of ssDNA Brushes on Gold
D.Y. Petrovykh, A. Opdahl, H. Kimura-Suda, M.J. Tarlov, and L.J. Whitman
11:45 – 12:10
High Pressure X-ray and STM Studies of Electrosorbed CO monolayers on Pt(111)
Kee-Chul Chang, V. Komanicky, A. Menzel and H. You
  Frist Campus Center
Oral Session 2:   Surface Kinetics, Film Growth and Oxides
Moderator: Vic Henrich
1:30 – 1:55
Kinetics of NH Formation and Dissociation on Pt(111)
Kumudu Mudiyanselage, Michael Trenary and Randall J. Meyer
1:55 – 2:20
Towards understanding reactions of ethanol on Rh-surfaces
Andrea Resta, Johan Gustafson, Hannu Karhu, Anders Mikkelsen, Edvin Lundgren, Jakob Blomquist, Per Uvdal, and Jesper N. Andersen
2:20 – 2:45
Indium Clusters on the Ge(5x5) Wetting Layer of Si(111)-7x7
J.M. MacLeod, D. Psiachos, M.J. Stott and A.B. McLean
2:45 – 3:10
Surface structures and alloy formation for Ge deposition on Pt(100)
Taketoshi Matsumoto, Matthias Batzill, and Bruce E. Koel
3:30 – 3:55
Ripening of Monolayer Vacancy Pits on Metal Surfaces: Pathways and Energetics for Ag(111) versus Ag(100)
Mingmin Shen, Da-Jiang Liu, J.-M. Wen, C.J. Jenks, J.W. Evans, and P.A. Thiel
3:55 – 4:20
Surface Reconstructions of TiO 2 via Sub-oxides Formation
K.T. Park, M. Pan, V. Meunier, and E.W. Plummer
4:20 – 4:45
Preparation, Surface Structure, and Defects on TiO 2(011)-2x1
Olga Dulub, Matthias Batzill, Ulrike Diebold, Annabella Selloni, Cristiana di Valentin, Sergey Solovev, Elena Loginova, and Theodore E. Madey
4:45 - 6:00   Poster Session - Brush Gallery, McDonnell Hall
6:00   Picnic, Blair Courtyard
9:00 - 10:30   Poster session - Brush Gallery, McDonnell Hall
TUESDAY, JUNE 20, 2006
Nottingham Session 1:
  A01 McDonnell Hall
Moderator: Jane Hinch
8:20 – 8:40
  Fabrication, Functionalization and Characterization of Atomically Precise Organosilicon Nanostructures: A Scanning Tunneling Microscopy Study
R. Basu and M.C. Hersam
8:40 – 9:00
Electronic Transport in Nanometer-Scale Silicon-on-Insulator Membranes
Pengpeng Zhang and Max G. Lagally
9:00 – 9:20
  Structural Characterization of the d-Al-Ni-Co Quasicrystal Surface and Xe Adsorption
Nicola Ferralis and Renee D. Diehl
9:20 – 9:40
  Adsorbate-induced faceting of Re surfaces
Hao Wang and Theodore E. Madey
9:40 – 10:00
  Spectroscopic Characterization of Intermediates on Pt(111) Related to the Catalytic Synthesis of HCN from CH 4 and NH 3
Eldad Herceg and Michael Trenary
10:00 – 10:20
  Controlling the Catalytic Selectivity on Ni Surfaces by Step blocking
Ronnie T. Vang and Flemming Besenbacher
Nottingham Session 2 :   Moderator: Mike Trenary
10:40 – 11:00

One-dimensional Pd Nanowires on a Reduced SnO2(101)
Khabibullakh (Bulat) Katsiev and Ulrike Diebold

11:00 – 11:20
Self-assembly of Multi-component Systems and the Formation of 2-D Nanostructure on a Solid Surface
Feng Tao and Steven L. Bernasek
11:20 – 11:40
  Temperature-Driven Change in the Unstable Growth Mode on Patterned GaAs(001)
T. Tadayyon-Eslami and R.J. Phaneuf
11:40 – 12:00
  Correlating Electron Transport Properties with Molecular Structures by Combining Conductive-Probe AFM Experiments and DFT Calculations
Jian Liang, Qiang Sun, Annabella Selloni and Giacinto Scoles
12:00 – 12:20
  Measuring Spin Dependant Hot Electron Transport using Spin-Polarized Ballistic Electron Emission Microscopy
A.J. Stollenwerk and V.P. LaBella
Lunch   Frist Campus Center
1:30 – 2:20
  Surface Science, Biointerfaces and Nanotechnology – selected examples (Invited)
Bengt Kasemo
Nottingham Session 3 :   Moderator: Rich Kurtz
2:20 – 2:40
  Synthetically Tuned Excited States: Luminescent, Cyclometalated Iridium(III) Complexes and their Applications
Michael S. Lowry and Stefan Bernhard
2:40 – 3:00
  Step Stiffness Anisotropy: From Experiment to Theory and Back Again
Timothy J. Stasevich and Theodore L. Einstein
3:00 – 3:20
  Molecular Self-Assembly at Bare GaAs Semiconductor Surfaces: Characterization of Ordered Organo-thiolate Monolayers on GaAs(100), (110) and (111)A Surfaces
Christine L. McGuiness and David L. Allara
Nottingham Session 4 :   Moderator: Stefan Bernhard
3:40 – 4:00
  Competing periodicities in fractionally filled one-dimensional bands
P.C. Snijders and H.H. Weitering
4:00 – 4:20
  Achieving Low Recombination Rates Despite a High Surface Defect Density: the Role of Surface Charge Carrier Concentration
David J. Michalak and Nathan S. Lewis
4:20 – 4:40
  Water Interactions with a Ferroelectric Polymer
Luis G. Rosa and Peter Dowben
4:40 – 5:00
  Structural and photoemission study of Sn 1-xMn xSe 2: the first layered diluted semiconductor
F. Mirabella and J. Ghijsen
5:00 – 5:20
  Hard superconductivity of a soft metal in the quantum regime
Mustafa M. Özer , James R. Thompson and Hanno O. Weitering
6:00   Banquet - Prospect House
Oral Session 3:   Nanoparticles: Structure and Electronic Properties
Moderator: Peter Dowben
9:00 – 9:25
  In-situ electric conductivity measurements of the Ag-C 60 co-deposited films at low temperature
Genki Yoshikawa, Yuki Tsuruma, Susumu Ikeda, and Koichiro Saiki
9:25 – 9:50
  Room Temperature Ferromagneticism in Fe Implanted ZnO Nanotips
R.A. Bartynski, D.H. Hill, D.A. Arena, P. Wu, G. Saraf, Y. Lu, F. Cosandey, J.F. Al-Sharab, L. Wielunski, R. Gateau, J. Dvorak, A. Moodenbaugh, J.A. Raley, Yung Kee Yeo
9:50 – 10:15
  Nano-faceted Ir(210): probe for structural and size effects in surface chemistry
Wenhua Chen, Ivan Ermanoski, Timo Jacob, and Theodore E. Madey
10:15 – 10:40
  Assembly of Silver Nanoparticles onto Multi-walled Carbon Nanotubes and Study of Nanoparticle Attachment Mechanism
Liying Zhu, Ganhua Lu, Junhong Chen,and Carol Hirschmugl
11:00 – 11:25
  Surface Functionalization and Interface Characterization for HFO 2 Growth by Atomic Layer Deposition
Y. Wang, M.-T. Ho, M. Dai, L.S. Wielunski, L. Goncharova, T. Gustafsson, and Y.J. Chabal
11:25 – 11:50
Time-resolved two-photon photoemission from the Si(557)-Au surface
T.K. Rugheimer, F.J. Himpsel and Th. Fauster
11:50 – 12:15
  Schottky Barrier Tuning in Pb/Si(111) Studied by Quantum Well Spectroscopy
D.A. Ricci, T. Miller and T.-C. Chiang
Lunch   Frist Campus Center
Oral Session 4:  

Nanomaterials, continued...
Moderator: Ted Madey

1:30 – 1:55
  Interference patterns in field emission images of Multi-Walled Carbon Nanotubes
Georgianna L. Martin and P.R. Schwoebel
1:55 – 2:20
  Nano 2hybrids: Electronic Structure of Ni Nanoparticles Evaporated on Multi Wall Carbon Nanotubes
C. Bittencourt, A. Felten, F. Mirabella, J.-F. Colomer, G. Van Tendeloo, W. Drube, J. Ghijsen, and J.-J. Pireaux
2:20 – 2:45
Adatom and Nanostructure Electronic Properties Measured by Ion-Surface Charge Exchange
Jory A. Yarmoff, Zdenek Sroubek, Victor Chen, Frank Liu, Prasanta Karmakar