## Appendix E Workshop Participants and Other Reviewers and Contributors

## Changing Telecommunications Technology and Policy Workshop,\* Feb. 16,1989

Dale Hatfield, Workshop Chair Hatfield Associates Boulder, CO

Gregory Benson New York State Department of Education Albany, NY Walter G. Bolter Bethesda Research Institute Bethesda, MD George Connick University of Maine at Augusta Robert Keely Bellcore Technical Education Center Lisle, IL Mara Mayor Corporation for Public Broadcasting Washington, DC Maurice Mitchell The Annenberg School of Communications University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA

Jason Ohler University of Alaska Southeast Juneau. AK Llovd Otterman **TI-IN** Network San Antonio, TX Joseph N. Pelton IntelSat Washington, DC Robert Pepper Federal Communications Commission Washington, DC Phillip Rubin Rubin, Benarek & Associates Washington, DC Linda Schatz Iowa Public Television Johnston, IA

\*workshop sponsored by the Annenberg Washington Program of Northwestern University

## Federal Workshop, March 1, 1989

Nancy Carson, *Workshop Chair* Office of Technology Assessment

Clifford Block Bureau of Science and Technology Agency for International Development Darcia Bracken National Technical Information Service U.S. Department of Commerce John E. Brockwell Satellite Education Program U.S. Army Logistics Management College Dennis By bee Management Information Systems Division Department of Defense Dependent Schools James S. Cary

Decision Systems Management Agency Department of the Army

Dennis Connors National Telecommunications and Information Administration U.S. Department of Commerce Kerry Joels Department of Health and Human Services Don McCabe Bureau of Indian Affairs U.S. Department of the Interior Andrew Molnar Materials Development, Research and Informal Science Education Division National Science Foundation J. William Nelson Office of Productivity, Technology, and Innovation U.S. Department of Commerce

William Nixon Educational Technology Branch National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Robert Peters Rural Electrification Administration U.S. Department of Agriculture

Larry Quinn Office of Governmental and Public Affairs U.S. Department of Agriculture

Arthur Sheekey Office of Educational Research and Improvement U.S. Department of Education Frank Withrow Star Schools Program Educational Networks Division U.S. Department of Education George Ziener Center for Advanced Learning Systems U.S. Department of Labor

## **Other Reviewers and Contributors**

Gail Arnall Satellite Educational Resources Consortium Kevin Arundel U.S. Department of Education Jo Babic **TI-IN** Network David Barbee Center for Advanced Learning Systems U.S. Department of Labor Bartus Batson Communications and Data Systems Associates Alex Bellows Arizona State Department of Education Thomas Beaudoin New York State United Teachers Richard Boyd Mississippi State Department of Education Elsie Brumback North Carolina State Department of Education Kathleen Buccy Southern New England Telephone David Bunting Kirkwood Community College, Iowa Patricia Cabrera Los Angeles County Office of Education Bruce Chaloux Virginia Polytechnic Institute Daryl Chubin Office of Technology Assessment Alan Chute AT&T National Teletraining Center William A. Clauss Western Carolina University

James M. Cooper University of Virginia, Charlottesville Clay Curtis Associated Communications and Research Services, Inc. Richard Daly WHRO Television Norfolk, Virginia Edward Dooley The Learning Channel Randolph Dove **Electronic Data Systems** Kelli Durham Region IV Education Service Center, Houston Teresa Elder US West C. Emily Feistritzer National Center for Education Information Kevin Fennell NYNEX Michael Feuer Office of Technology Assessment Geoffrey Fletcher Texas State Department of Education John Fowler The Triangle Coalition Marilyn Fox AT&Ť Susan Fratkin National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges August Frattali Spring Hill Elementary School Fairfax County, Virginia

Linda Garcia Office of Technology Assessment Sandy Garrett Oklahoma State Department of Education Linda R. Gorton Delaware-Chenango Board of Cooperative Educational Servcies, New York **Richard Grefe** National Association of Public Television Stations Robert Gunther Maryland State Department of Education Toni Haas Mid-Continent Regional Educational Laboratory Dorothy Hajdu Riverview Intermediate Unit, Pennsylvania Robert Hale Connecticut State Department of Education Leslie Hanks Washington County Board of Education, Maryland Deborah Harris Louisiana Educational Resource Network Smith Holt Oklahoma State University Dean Honetschlager National Governors' Association Mary Hoy Iowa State University at Ames David Hughes Colorado Springs, Colorado John Hurlimann Riverdale Public Schools, North Dakota Jerome Johnston University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Sally Johnstone Western Cooperative for Educational Telecommunications Brian Kahin Cambridge, Massachusetts Jack Keck PACE, Indian River, Michigan Susan Koch Washington, DC **Richard La Rochelle** Rural Electric Cooperative Association Donald La Salle Talcott Mountain Science Center Gordon Law Office of Technology Assessment

John LeBaron University of Lowell, Massachusetts Cecilia Lenk **Technical Education Research Centers** Eileen Lewis AT&T Robert Luff Jones Intercable Ron Lukenbill Montana State Office of Public Instruction Jack Luskin University of Lowell, Massachusetts David Mandel National Board for Professional Teaching Standards R. Bruce Martin University of Virginia, Charlottesville Terry May Region IV Education Service Center, Houston Steven Mazzola University of Lowell, Massachusetts Bill Mehojah Bureau of Indian Affairs U.S. Department of the Interior Arthur Melmed New York University George T.M. Miller, Jr. Uintah Basin Area Vocational Center Jeanne Moellendick West Virginia State Department of Education Frank Odasz Western Montana College Joao Oliveira World Bank Dennis Pellant Tele-Systems Associates, Inc. Margaret Petronchak The Communications Center John Poggio University of Kansas, Lawrence Diana Radspinner Dallas Independent School District Lewis Rhodes American Association of School Administrators Ted Roscher Educational Service District #101, Spokane Doug Rundle Forgan Public Schools, Oklahoma

George Rush Council of Chief State School Officers Jim St. Lawrence SL Productions

Steve Sherman Public Broadcasting Service

Ron Shipe Tennessee Valley Authority

Stanley Silverman New York Institute of Technology

**Steve Skiles** Defense Training and Performance Data Center U.S. Department of Defense

Cathy Slesinger NYNEX

Jean Smith Office of Technology Assessment

Patricia Snowden National Geographic Society

Bernard Solomon The School District of Philadelphia

James Stedman Congressional Research Service

Nancy Stover The Discovery Channel

Ron Strecker Panhandle Telephone Cooperative, Inc. Donald Sutton Mind Extension University Jones Intercable Tom Tate **Extension Service** U.S. Department of Agriculture Patsy Tinsley Webster, Texas Chet Tomczyk Public Broadcasting Service Ginny Tresvant Washington State Office of Public Instruction Gary Tydings University of New Mexico Freeman Van Wickler Delaware-Chenango Board of Cooperative Educational Services, New York Frank Wallace California State Department of Education Gary Watts National Education Association Karen Willetts Center for Applied Linguistics Frank Windsor Maryland State Department of Education Tom Wing George Washington University Television Edward Winter Whittle Communications Dennis J. Wydra Mansfield University, Pennsylvania