APPENDIX G

Workshop Participants and Reviewers and Contributors

Costs of Research and Federal Decisionmaking Workshop, July 12, 1990

Rodney Nichols, Workshop Chair Executive Vice President Rockefeller University

Harvey Averch Acting Director

Department of Public Administration Florida International University

North Miami, FL

Essex Finney

Director of Beltsville Area Agricultural Research Center U.S. Department of Agriculture

Beltsville, MD

Howard Gobstein

Government Relations Officer Research and Technology Transfer

University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, MI

Bernadine Healy Chairman

Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Cleveland, OH

S. Allen Heininger

Vice President for Research

Monsanto Co. Clayton, MO

Ruth L. Kirschstein

Director

National Institute of General Medical Sciences

National Institutes of Health

Bethesda, MD

Ron Konkel

Special Assistant to the Associate

Administrator of Space, Science and Applications National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Washington, DC

William Massy

Vice President for Finance Stanford University

Stallfold Ulliver

Stanford, CA

Harold Orlans Consultant

Chevy Chase, MD

Murray Schulman

Executive Assistant Director Office of Energy Research U.S. Department of Energy

Washington, DC

Robert Sproull Professor

Department of Physics University of Rochester

Rochester, NY

Amy Walton Manager

Science Data Analysis and Computing Systems

Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Pasadena, CA

F. Karl Willenbrock Assistant Director

Scientific, Technological and International Affairs

National Science Foundation

Washington, DC

Reviewers and Contributors

Michael Davey Robert Abel

Congressional Research Service National Science Foundation

Karl Erb Joseph Alexander

Office of Science and Technology Policy National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Charles Falk John Alic Consultant Office of Technology Assessment

Alan Fechter Harvey Averch

National Research Council Florida International University

Michael Feuer Miriam Baltuck

Office of Technology Assessment National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Gerald Garvey Richard Barke

Los Alamos National Laboratory Georgia Institute of Technology

Robin Gaster Frederick Bentley

Office of Technology Assessment Stanford University

Peter Blair Michael Gluck

Office of Technology Assessment Office of Technology Assessment

Howard Gobstein Jennifer Bond University of Michigan National Science Foundation

Barry Gold Ray Bowen

National Academy of Sciences National Science Foundation

Thomas Goodnight Norman Braveman National Institutes of Health Northwestern University

Edward Hackett Harvey Brooks Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Harvard University

Lawrence Burton Richard Hahn

U.S. Department of Energy National Science Foundation

C.I. Harris

John Campbell U.S. Department of Agriculture National Academy of Sciences

Henry Hertzfeld Judith Coakley

Consultant National Science Foundation Charles Hess Vary Coates

U.S. Department of Agriculture Office of Technology Assessment

Wilmot Hess Robert Correll U.S. Department of Energy National Science Foundation

Michael Crow Christopher Hill

National Academy of Sciences Iowa State University

Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Association of American Universities

John Holmfeld

U.S. House of Representatives Joseph Danek

James Jasinski National Science Foundation University of Illinois, Urbana

John Crowley

Rhea Jezer

Congressional Caucus for Women's Issues

William Keller

Office of Technology Assessment

Genevieve Knezo

Congressional Research Service

Carlos Kruytbosch

National Science Foundation

Marcel LaFollette

George Washington University

Frank Laird

University of Denver

Neal Lane Rice University

Joshua Lederberg Rockefeller University

Leonard Lederman

National Science Foundation

Alan Leinbach Dames & Moore, Inc.

Tom Lessl

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Arnold Levine Consultant

Loet Leydesdorff

University of Amsterdam

Hugh Loweth Consultant

Shirley Malcolm

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Edwin Mansfield

University of Pennsylvania

James McCullough

National Science Foundation

Steve Nelson

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Rodney Nichols

Carnegie Corp. of New York

Linda Parker

National Science Foundation

Don Phillips

National Academy of Sciences

Michael Phillips

Office of Technology Assessment

Rolf Piekarz

National Science Foundation

Larry Prelli

University of New Hampshire

Linda Roberts

Office of Technology Assessment

Thomas F. Rogers Consultant

Robert Rosen

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

David Sanchez

National Science Foundation

Frederick Sapp Consultant James Savage

University of Virginia

Dick Schoen

National Science Foundation

Jerry Sesco

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Alan Shaw

Office of Technology Assessment

Sonja Sperlich

National Science Foundation

Guyford Stever

Carnegie Commission on Science, Technology, and Government

Jeffrey Stine

Smithsonian Institution

Linda Stuntz

U.S. Department of Energy

Jane Stutsman

National Science Foundation

Janet Sweet Stanford University

Albert Teich

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Michael Telson

Committee on the Budget U.S. House of Representatives

Alan Title

Lockheed Missiles & Space Co.

John Townsend

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

A.D. Van Nostrand

Georgia Institute of Technology

Betty Vetter

Commission on Professionals in

Science and Technology

Alvin Weinberg

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

John White

National Science Foundation

Ray Williamson

Office of Technology Assessment

Joan Winston

Office of Technology Assessment

Joel Yudken

Rutgers University