Appendix F: Workshop Participants and Reviewers and Contributors

Workshop on Intercity Bus Access for Individuals With Disabilities, March 17, 1992

Ralf, Hotchkiss, *Chairperson** *San* Francisco State University

B.L. Bentzen Boston College

Richard V. Burkhauser* Syracuse University

Joseph Dabrowski* Transportation Manufacturing Corp.

John Greene Plymouth & Brockton Street Railway Co.

Brian Guthrie Hickling Corp.

Mary Guthrie Resident, Paul Springs Retirement Community

Frank M. Henry* Frank Martz Coach Co.

Bill Hodgson Stewart and Stevenson Power, Inc.

Jack Hoffman Evergreen Travel Service, Inc. Randy Isaacs Isaacs & Associates

Brian Marshall Transportation Development Centre

Jack Michaels* Technology Access Consultant

Steve Miller California Department of Transportation

Ronald R. Moore* Burlington Trailways

Lyle S. Peterson New Jersey Transit

Steven Reger The Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Robert Reuter Access Systems

Ken Sislak Progressive Casualty Insurance Co.

Appendix F: Workshop Participants and Reviewers and Contributors 143

Donald R. Smith Lift-U

Jim Smith Greyhound Lines, Inc.

'Advisory Panel Members

Patricia Weaver* Kansas University Transportation Center

Charles Wheeler* Wheeler Medical Laboratories

Workshop on Building an Accessible System for Intercity Bus Access for Individuals With Disabilities, July 15, 1992

> Frank M. Henry, *Chairperson** Frank Martz Coach Co,

A.J. Achabal Boise-Winnemuca Stages, Inc.

Greg Bosley Eyre Bus Service, Inc.

Richard Burkhauser* Syracuse University

Kenneth Campbell* Ohio Developmental Disabilities

Mary Martha Churchman U.S. Department of Transportation

Joseph Dabrowski* Transportation Manufacturing Corp.

Joyce Driben Social Worker

Dan Hartman U.S. Department of Transportation

Barry Hecht New York Department of Transportation

Ralf Hotchkiss* San Francisco State University

Randy Isaacs Isaacs & Associates

Barbara Jacobson Flying Wheels

Fred Kaiser* Kerrville Bus Lines Mary Kihl Iowa State University

Theodore Knappen* Government Affairs Management Associates

Klaus May Independent Consultant

S. Burkett Milner Capital Tours, Inc.

Ronald R. Moore* Burlington Trailways

Latonya Reeves Atlantis Community Center for Independent Living

Wendy Roth Author

Jerry Rudnick Michigan Department of Transportation

Willard Shorter Senior Center for the Hearing Impaired Shiloh Baptist Church

Jim Smith Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Walter Spencer* Day & Zimmerman, Inc.

Thomas Taylor Jefferson Lines, Inc.

Michael Tompane Author Charles Wheeler, Jr.* Wheeler Medical Laboratories

* Advisory Panel Members

John Winske Massachusetts Coalition of Citizens With Disabilities

Access to Over-the-Road to Buses for Persons with Disabilities Reviewers and Contributors

George Anzouni Plymouth & Brockton Street Railway Co.

Martha Baer U.S. Department of Agriculture

Joe Barthmeyer Keeshin Charter Service, Inc.

William Bauer Services for Independent Living

Sara Brandt U.S. General Accounting Office

Sara Bruster National Easter Seals Society

Jack Burket Lancer Insurance Co.

Dennis Cannon Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board

David Capozzi Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board

Dale Carson Complete Coach Works

James Carter Antelope Wiley Bus, Inc.

Daryl Chubin Office of Technology Assessment

Janice Clarke Transport Canada

Robert Clark National Highway Traffic Safety Administration U.S. Department of Transportation Harvey F. Dick Neoplan USA Corp.

Kennely Diggs Rehabilitation Engineering Center University of Virginia

Kevin Dopart Office of Technology Assessment

John Drawe Bluebird Wonderlodge

Jerry Duskin National Organization on Disabilities

Frederic Fravel Econometrics, Inc.

Tracy Fredin Wilderness Inquiry

John Fusco Lift-U

Shari Gelman Ivymount School

Duane Gerstenberger National Federation for the Blind

Charles Gover North Carolina Department of Transportation

Beth Hamby Econometrics, Inc.

Judy Harkins Gallaudet College

William Hinze Ricon Corp.

Appendix F: Workshop Participants and Reviewers and Contributors I 145

William C. Hughes Southeastern Stages, Inc.

Katherine Hunter-Zaworski Transportation Institute Oregon State University

George Izume Urban Mass Transportation Administration U.S. Department of Transportation

Stephen M. Johnson National Tour Association

Nancy Jones Congressional Research Service

Jared Jordan Econometrics, Inc.

Steven L. Kehs Department of Planning and Development County of Cumberland, New Jersey

Mary Fran Kelly Midwest Electronic Industries, Inc.

Dave Kessler Q-Straint

Sue F. Knapp Econometrics, Inc.

Martin Kramer Southeastern Trailways, Inc.

Bill Kula Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Norman Lederman Oval Window Audio

Alan Leinbach Dames and Moore, Inc.

Susan Liss Federal Highway Administration U.S. Department of Transportation

Charles Norman Littler Motorcoach Industrial Engineering Center

Katie Maslow Office of Technology Assessment Jim Misek Denver RTD Training Department

Denny Moore Oregon Department of Transportation

Allen Morrow Deputy Insurance Commissioner State of Washington

Abigail Moss National Center for Health Statistics

Yvonne Nau Nautilus Tours, Inc.

Joe Pane Lift-U

Endre Pataky Adaptive Engineering, Ltd.

Susan Perry American Bus Association

Susan Petty Office of Motor Carriers U.S. Department of Transportation

Edward Rastatter U.S. Department of Transportation

David Raphael Community Transportation Association of America

Mice Ramsey Interstate Commerce Commission

Paul Reichmeith Lift-U

Bob Reifsteck Altoona Bus Testing Center

Dorene Reilly American Travel Agency, Ltd.

Catherine Rice Seattle Metro

Linda Roberts Office of Technology Assessment Gamble Rudd Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Randy Rutta National Easter Seals Society

James Santini National Tour Association

Donna Shaunesey JAUNT, Inc.

Peter Shaw-Lawrence Society for the Advancement of Travel for the Handicapped

Rosalyn Simon National Easter Seals Society

Theresa Spivak U.S. General Accounting Office

Steve Sprague United Bus Owners of America

Larry Stem Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance

Beverly Stewart Plymouth & Brockton Street Railway Co.

Eileen Stommes U.S. Department of Agriculture Richard Summers Southern California Rapid Transit District

Roger Tate Urban Mass Transportation Administration U.S. Department of Transportation

Irene X. Tzamaras Econometrics, Inc.

Maryanke Van Den Berger Maryanke Tours, Inc.

Diane Vanasse National Transportation Agency of Canada

Elaine Wade American Bus Association

John Walsh New York City Transit Authority

Jeff Webster Fresno Rural Transit

Bruce Wright American Seating Co.

Pat Wright Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund

Mark Young Office of Technology Assessment

NOTE: OTA appreciates and is grateful for the valuable assistance and thoughtful critiques provided by the reviewers and contributors. The reviewers and contributors do not, however, necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse this report. OTA assumes full responsibility for the report and the accuracy of its contents.