Appendix F: Acknowledgments

OTA thanks the members of the advisory panel, conference and workshop participants, contractors, and the many individuals and organizations that supplied information for this report. In addition, OTA acknowledges the following individuals for their comments on drafts of this report:

Richard Adamson National Cancer Institute Bruce Ames University of California, Berkeley Jeanne Anson National Center for Toxicological Research Lynn Anspaugh Lawrence Livermore Laboratory Donald Barnes U.S. Environmental Protection Agency James Bean U.S. Department of Energy Thomas Borelli Philip Morris Daniel M. Byrd, III Distilled Spirits Council of the United States, Inc. Samuel M. Cohen University of Nebraska Medical Center Murray Cohn **Consumer Product Safety Commission** Paul Deisler Houston, TX Christopher DeRosa Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Helen Donoghue Delegation of the European Communities

John Doull University of Kansas Leon Ellwein National Institutes of Health Spencer Farr Xenometrix, Inc. **Bob** Fensterheim **RegNet Environmental Services** Gary J. Foley U.S. Environmental Protection Agency David Gaylor National Center for Toxicological Research Lois Gold Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Gio Gori Health Policy Seminar John D. Graham Harvard University **Richard Griesemer** National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences Fred Hoerger American Industrial Health Council Vernon Houk Centers for Disease Control

220

Appendix F: Acknowledgments 221

Peter Infante Occupational Safety and Health Administration Barry Johnson Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Philip J. Landrigan The Mount Sinai Medical Center Joe LeBeau Carnegie-Mellon University Mayada A. Logue Robert Wood Johnson Medical School George Lucier National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences Thomas McKone Lawrence Livermore Laboratories Barry Milcarek Mobil Oil Franklin Mirer United Auto Workers A. Alan Moghissi University of Maryland **Richard Niemeier** National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Anthony V. Nero Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Arthur R. Norris National Center for Toxicological Research Carole O'Toole American Industrial Health Council Stephen Page U.S. Environmental Protection Agency D.J. Paustenbach McLaren/Hart Environmental Engineering Mary Paxton American Petroleum Institute William Pease University of California, Berkeley **Richard Peto** Oxford Henry C. Pitot University of Wisconsin

Gerald V. Poje National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences James A. Popp Chemical Industry Institute for Toxicology Lawrence Rhomberg U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Kathryn Rosica Chemical Manufacturers Association Paul Roney Public Citizen Mark E. Rushefsky Southwest Missouri State University Marvin Schneiderman National Research Council Bern A. Schwetz National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences Robert Sielken Sielken, Inc. Ellen Silbergeld University of Maryland Hugh Spitzer International Life Science Institute Leslie T. Stayner National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Gerhard Stohrer Science and Environmental Policy Project John Vandenberg U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Andrew Wallo U.S. Department of Energy John Whysner American Health Foundation I. Bernard Weinstein Columbia University Richard Wilson Harvard University Sidney Wolfe Public Citizen Harold Zenick U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

222 I Researching Health Risks

OTA acknowledges the following individuals for their comments on drafts of the appendix on International Risk Assessment:

Ulf G. Ahlborg Karolinska Institute Sweden Ake E. Anderson Institute for Future Studies Sweden Charlie Auer U.S. Environmental Protection Agency George Becking World Health Organization-International Programme on Chemical Safety Edward Bennett Directorate-General of Environment, Nuclear Safety, and Civil Protection European Economic Community Jim Brydon Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development J. Takala International Labor Organisation Kees A. Vander Heijden The Netherlands Pierre Claret de Fleurieu Chef du Division des Services du Senat France Helen Donoghue Delegation of the Commission of European Communities Robin J. Fielder Department of Health England Jacobo Finkelman Pan American Health Organisation Corrado Galli University Degli Studi DiMilano Italy Herman Gibb Office of International Activities U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Geoff Granville Environmental Health Directorate Canada

Terry Harvey Office of International Activities U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Wilfred Kreisel World Health Organization Dan Krewski Health & Welfare Canada Canada M. Maurice Laurent Conseiller des Services de l'Assemb1ee Nationale France M. Jean-Yves Le Deaut Assemblee Nationale France Victor Morgenroth Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Patrick Murphy Commission of the European Communities Robert Nilsson National Swedish Chemicals Sweden Michael Norton Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology England David Ogden Office of International Activities U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Herbert Paschen Buro fur Technikfolgen-Abschatzung des Deutschen Bundestages Germany Frederick Pott Medical Institute of Environmental Hygeine Germany Jorn Ravn Danish Board of Technology Denmark Edward Smith World Health Organisation/International Programme on Chemical Safety

Appendix F: Acknowledgments 223

Gerard M.H. Swaen University of Limburg The Netherlands

John Whysner American Health Foundation

Kees A. Van der Heijden Bilthoven, The Netherlands Josee C.M. Van Eijnhoven Nederlandse Organisatie voor Technologist Aspectenonderzoak The Netherlands Hugo van Lioy Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development