Appendixes

SensorisAppendix A.

Appendix B.

Appendix C.

...* *219

Appendix A OTA Workshop Participants and Observers

OTA Workshop Participants: Technologies to Detect Pesticide Residues in Food, Mar. 14-16, 1988

Henry Conacher Chief, Food Research Division Health and Welfare Canada Ottawa, Canada

John Cowell Senior Research Group Leader Environmental Sciences Department Monsanto Co. St. Louis, MO

William Cusick Branch Chief Chemistry Laboratory Services Department of Food and Agriculture Sacramento, CA

Richard Ellis Director, Chemistry Division Food Safety and Inspection Service U.S. Department of Agriculture Washington, DC

Silvia Canseco Gonzalez Plant and Animal Health Office Agriculture Department Cozoacan, Mexico City, Mexico

Kenneth Hill Research Chemist Environmental Chemistry Laboratory Agricultural Research Service U.S. Department of Agriculture Beltsville. MD

Kenneth Hunter President Westinghouse Bio-Analytic Systems Corp. Rockville, MD

Lyle Johnson Vice President Laboratory Operations Analytical Bio-Chemistry Laboratories, Inc. Columbia, MO Bruce Kropscott Research Chemist Analytical and Environmental Chemistry Dow Chemical CO./USA Midland, MI

Harry Lento Director, Corporate Analytical Chemistry Campbell Soup Co. Camden, NJ

Julius Menn Associate Deputy Area Director Plant Science Institute Agricultural Research Service U.S. Department of Agriculture Beltsville, MD

Ralph Mumma Professor of Chemical Pesticides Pesticide Research Laboratory Pennsylvania State University University Park, PA

W. Harvey Newsome Head, Pesticide Section Food Research Division Health and Welfare Canada Ottawa, Canada

Cynthia Peck Senior Research Chemist Analytical and Environmental Chemistry Dow Chemical Co./USA Midland, MI

Jack Plimmer Research Leader Environmental Chemistry Laboratory Agricultural Research Service U.S. Department of Agriculture Beltsville, MD

Leon D. Sawyer Chemist Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Food and Drug Administration U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Washington, DC Jim Seiber

Professor and Associate Dean

Department of Environmental Toxicology

University of California

Davis, CA

Sarah Taylor

Analyst of Life Sciences

Congressional Research Service

The Library of Congress

Washington, DC

Charles Trichilo

Chief, Residue Chemistry Branch

Office of Pesticides and Toxic Substances

Environmental Protection Agency

Washington, DC

OTA Staff

Walter Parham

Susan Shen

H. Anson Moye

Allen Ruby

List of Observers for the Pesticide Residue Workshop

Raymond Bowers General Mills

Jerry Burke

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Food and Drug Administration

William Cahill

Sandoz Crop Protection

Lou Carson

Division of Field Science

Food and Drug Administration

Jeff Carter

Iowa Specialty Grains

Bernie Chong

Residue Metabolism

Rohn Haas Co.

Marion Clower

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Food and Drug Administration

Paul Corneilussen

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Food and Drug Administration

Jack Czarnecki

Hoechst Roussel Agri-Vet

Richard A. DePalma Procter and Gamble

Jim Devine

American Cyanamid co.

Ed Elkins

National Food Processors Association

Bob Epstein

Food Safety and Inspection Service U.S. Department of Agriculture

Bruce Ferguson ImmunoSystems, Inc.

George Fong

Florida Department of Agriculture

Bob Foster Adolf Coors

Willa Garner

Environmental Protection Agency

John Gillis

EPA/NEIC Center

Denver Federal Center

Environmental Protection Agency

Robert Graves

Environmental Monitoring Systems Laboratory

(Cincinnati)

Environmental Protection Agency

Anthony Gross

Nabisco Brands, Inc.

Janet Hathaway

National Resources Defense Council

Donald Hughes

Hazelton Laboratories

William Jacobs

Enzytech

Ian Kelly

Northern Chemical Co.

Milton Luke

Los Angeles District Laboratory

Food and Drug Administration

Pasquale Lombardo

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Food and Drug Administration

William McCasland

Texas Department of Agriculture

Albertha Paul Zymark Corp.

Pete Price Assembly Office of Research California State Legislator

Richard Schmitt Residue Chemistry Branch Environmental Protection Agency

Susan Shellabarger Ensys Inc.

Terry Spittler Department of Food Science and Technology Cornell University

John Scott Warner Battelle

Richard Wiles Board on Agriculture National Academy of Sciences

Robert K. Williams CIBA-GEIGY Corp.

Crystal Willis

Grocery Manufacturers of America, Inc.

Albert Yamada

Mike Masaoka Association, Inc.

Congressional Staff Michael Hoffman Senator Proxmire's Office

Debra Jacobson

House Committee on Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Mary Dunbar Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry

Jerilyn Hoy Cynthia Rasmuseen General Accounting Office