Physical Vulnerability of Electric Systems to Natural Disasters and Sabotage

June 1990

OTA-E-453 NTIS order #PB90-253287





Recommended Citation:

U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, *Physical Vulnerability of Electric System* to Natural Disasters and Sabotage, OTA-E-453 (Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, June 1990).

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402-9325 (order form can be found in the back of this report)

# Foreword

This assessment responds to requests by the Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs and the House Committee on Energy and Commerce to evaluate the potential for long-term electric power outages following natural disasters and deliberate sabotage. This report complements earlier OTA reports: *Electric Power Wheeling and Dealing-Technological Considerations for Increasing Competition;* and New *Electric Power Technologies*— *Problems and Prospects for the 1990s.* 

This country has enjoyed remarkably reliable electric service for the most part. Very few blackouts have affected many people for more than a few hours. Nevertheless, much worse blackouts are possible which could cause enormous disruption and expense for society. It is the intent of this report to analyze how such disasters could happen and how the risk could be reduced.

OTA examined the effects on an electric power system when various components are damaged and how the system can be restored. Present efforts and potential options to reduce vulnerability are described. Also, specific policy measures are analyzed and grouped according to whether they are likely to be implemented and their costs.

This report contains no information not readily available from other public sources that would assist saboteurs in destroying electric power facilities and causing widespread blackouts. An analysis of the vulnerability of specific equipment is included in a separate appendix that is under classification review **by** the Department of Energy. This appendix will be made available only under appropriate safeguards by the Department of Energy.

OTA appreciates the generous assistance provided by our workshop participants as well as other individuals who contributed to this report by providing information, advice, and substantive reviews of draft materials. To all of the above goes the gratitude of OTA and the personal thanks of the project staff.

) JOHN H. GIBBONS Director

## Electric System Vulnerability Workshop Participants October 18, 1989

Edward Badolato CMS, Inc.

Lex Curtis Westinghouse ABB

John Edwards New York State Energy Office

Michehl Gent North American Electric Reliability Council

A. Leonard Ghilani RTE Power Products

Henry Hyatt Federal Emergency Management Agency

James Jackson Southern California Edison Co.

Frank Kroll Arizona Public Service Co.

Charles Lane U.S. Secret Service Joseph Muckerman 11 U.S. Department of Defense

Jeffrey Palermo Casazza, Schultz & Associates, Inc.

Bernard Pasternack American Electric Power Service Corp.

Stanley Trumbower U.S. Department of Energy

Joseph Walter Maryland Public Service Commission

Emmet Willard Private Consultant

John Williams U.S. Department of Energy

John Wohlstetter Contel Corp.

Frank Young Electric Power Research Institute

# Physical Vulnerability of Electric Power Systems to Natural Disasters and Sabotage OTA Project Staff

Lionel S. Johns, Assistant Director, OTA Energy, Materials, and International Security Division

Peter D. Blair, Energy and Materials Program Manager

Alan T. Crane, Project Director

Robin Roy, Analyst

Joanne M. Seder, Analyst

Administrative Staff

Linda Long Phyllis Brumfield

#### **Contributors**

Lillian Chapman A. Jenifer Robison Daniel Yoon

**Contractors** 

Casazza, Schultz & Associates, Inc.

### Acknowledgments

Glenn Coplan U.S. Department of Energy

Lex Curtis Asea Brown-Boveri

James Dodd Virginia Power Co.

Gene Gomelnik North American Electric Reliability Council

Richard Gutleber Virginia Power Co.

Roger Hamrick Virginia Power Co.

Eric Haskins Edison Electric Institute Michael Hunt Asea Brown-Boveri

Robert Mullen Department of Energy

David Nevius North American Electric Reliability Council

Hilton Peel Virginia Power Co.

Kyle Pitsor National Electrical Manufacturers Association

Charles Rudasill Virgnia Power Co.

Charles White National Electrical Manufacturers Association

### **Additional Reviewers**

Steinar J. Dale Oak Ridge National Laboratory

James S. Gilbertson Federal Emergency Management Agency Darriell Jones Federal Bureau of Investigation Monte Strait Federal Bureau of Investigation

NOTE: OTA appreciates and is grateful for the valuable assistance and thoughtful critiques provided by the reviewers. The reviewers do not, however, necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse this report. OTA assumes full responsibility for the report and the accuracy of its contents.