# Compensation for Vaccine-Related Injuries

November 1980

NTIS order #PB81-163909

# COMPENSATION FOR VACCINE-RELATED INJURIES

A TECHNICAL MEMORANDUM

NOVEMBER 1960



Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 80-600187

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office Washington, D.C. ,20402

In September 1979, the Office of Technology Assessment published a report A Review of Selected Federal Vaccine and Immunization Policies. That report included a chapter that reviewed issues related to legal liability and compensation for vaccine-related injuries. The report noted that all vaccines, even when properly manufactured and administered, may pose risks to users. Under the existing legal liability system, persons injured as a result of vaccination must go to court and establish fault for their injury in order to receive compensation. To establish fault, the plaintiff (injured person) generally sues one or more of the participants in the vaccination process (e.g., administers the vaccine). The report noted that in three major cases in the past 11 years, plaintiffs have won large judgments against vaccine manufacturers for injuries caused by nondefective and properly administered vaccines. The resulting uncertainty for manufacturers has affected their willingness to produce and supply vaccines.

Because of these problems, OTA suggested that it might be desirable to establish a federally operated program to compensate vaccinees injured as a result of being vaccinated in public immunization programs.

Early in 1980, the House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee asked OTA to delineate the specific elements and principles necessary for inclusion in a legislative proposal to implement this option. This memorandum does not analyze the positives and negatives of establishing such a program. It begins with the assumption that establishing a compensation program is desirable, and then discusses the questions that Congress must answer in developing such a program.

 $\begin{array}{ccc} {\tt JOHN} & {\tt H.} & {\tt GIBBONS} \\ & Director \end{array}$ 

John H. Sibbour

## OTA HEALTH PROGRAM STAFF

Joyce C. Lashof, Assistant Director, OTA Health and Life Sciences Division

H. David Banta, Health Program Manager

Lawrence Miike, Project Director Pamela Doty, Congressional Fellow Virginia Cwalina, Administrative Assistant Shirley Ann Gayheart, Secretary Nancy L. Kenney, Secretary

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

In addition to reviews by the members of the Health Program Advisory

Committee, OTA received reviews of drafts of this technical memorandum from the

following people. These reviewers do not necessarily approve, disapprove, or

endorse the report.

William Foege, M.D. Director Center for Disease Control Atlanta, Georgia

Joel Kavet, D.SC.
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, D.C.

Hugh Tilson, M.D. Director Division of Health Services Department of Human Resources State of North Carolina

Suzanne Dandoy, M.D., M.P.H. Director Department of Health Services State of Arizona Richard F. Kingham Covington & Burling Washington, D.C.

Kathleen H. Acree, M.D. Chief Preventive Medical Services Branch Department of Health Services Health and Welfare Agency State of California

## HEALTH ADVISORY COMMITTEE

C. Frederick Mosteller, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Biostatistics
Harvard University
School of Public Health

Mark Lepper, M.D.
Vice President for
InterInstitutional Affairs
Rush-Presbyterian Medical School
St. Luke's Medical Center

Lewis H. Butler, L.L.B.
Health Policy Program
School of Medicine
University of California,
San Francisco

Kerr L. White, M.D.
Rockefeller Foundation

Stuart H. Altman, Ph.D. Dean Florence Heller School Brandeis University

Rashi Fein, Ph.D.
Professor of the Economics of Medicine
Center for Community Health
and Medical Care
Harvard Medical School

Mitchell Rabkin, M.D. General Director Beth Israel Hospital Kurt Deuschle, M.D. Professor of Community Medicine Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Ms. Beverlee Myers Director Department of Health Services State of California

Sidney S. Lee, M.D. Associate Dean Community Medicine McGill University

Melvin A. Glasser, LL.D. Director Social Security Department United Auto Workers

Robert M. Ball Senior Scholar Institute of Medicine National Academy of Sciences

Frederick C. Robbins, M.D. President
Institute of Medicine

Zita Fearon Consumer Commission on the Accreditation of Health Services, Inc.