Appendix H.— Health Program Advisory Committee, Authors of Case Studies of Medical Technologies (Background Papers #2, #3, and #5), and Acknowledgments

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Frederick C. Robbins, Chairman Dean, School of Medicine, Case Western Reserve University

Stuart H. Altman

Dean

Florence Heller School Brandeis University

Robert M. Ball

Senior Scholar

Institute of Medicine

National Academy of Sciences

Lewis H. Butler

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

Kurt Deuschle

Professor of Community Medicine Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Zita Fearon

Consumer Commission on the Accreditation of Health Services. Inc.

Rashi Fein

Professor of the Economics of Medicine

Center for Community Health and Medical Care

Harvard Medical School

Melvin A. Glasser

Director

Social Security Department United Auto Workers

Patricia King

Professor

Georgetown Law Center

Sidney S. Lee

Associate Dean

Community Medicine

McGill University

Mark Lepper

Vice President for Inter-Institutional Affairs

Rush-Presbyterian Medical School

St. Luke's Medical Center

Frederick Mosteller

Professor and Chairman

Department of Biostatistics

Harvard University

Beverlee Myers

Director

Department of Health Services

State of California

Mitchell Rabkin

General Director

Beth Israel Hospital

Kerr L. White

Rockefeller Foundation

AUTHORS OF CASE STUDIES OF MEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES

Nancy Barrand

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

Judy Bentkover

Arthur D. Little. Inc.

Peter Budetti

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

John P. Bunker

Division of Public Semices Research

School of Medicine

Stanford University

Morgan Delaney

School of Medicine

George Washington University

Philip G. Drew

Arthur D. Little, Znc.

David Eddy

Department of Engineering-Economics Systems Stanford University

Harvey V. Fineberg School of Public Health Harvard University

Ann B. Flood

School of Medicine University of Illinois

Eric Fortess

School of Public Health Harvard University

Lu Ann Heinen

Health Policy Program University of California, San Francisco

Michael Higgins

Division of Health Services Research Stanford University

Carol Korenbrot

Health Policy Program University of California, San Francisco

Lauren LeRoy

Health Policy Program University of California, San Francisco

Deborah P. Lubeck

Division of Health Services Research Stanford University

Bryan R. Luce

Office of Technology Assessment Congress of the United States

Peggy McManus

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

Lawrence Miike

Office of Technology Assessment Congress of the United States

Duncan Neuhauser

School of Medicine

Case Western Reserve University

Frederick L. Newman

Systems Research Unit

Eastern Pennsylvania Psychiatric Institute

Laurie A. Pearlman School of Public Health Harvard University

Richard A. Rettig The RAND Corp.

Noralou Roos

Faculty of Medicine University of Manitoba

Sheldon Rovin

School of Dental Medicine University of Pennsylvania

Leonard Saxe

Department of Psychology Boston University

C. C. Scalzi

School of Public Health University of California, Los Angeles

Karen Schachter

School of Public Health Harvard University

Richard M. Scheffler

Department of Economics George Washington University

Steven A. Schroeder

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

Stuart O. Schweitzer

School of Public Health

University of California, Los Angeles

Jonathan A. Showstack

Health Policy Program

University of California, San Francisco

William B. Stason

School of Public Health Harvard University

Judith L. Wagner

The Urban institute

Milton C. Weinstein

School of Public Health

Harvard University

Brian T. Yates

Department of Psychology The American University

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

A large number of individuals provided valuable advice and comments to OTA during this assessment. We are grateful for their assistance. In particular, we would like to thank the following people:

John Bonner

Emory University

Robert Brook

University of California at

Los Angeles

James Bush

University of California at San Diego

Philip Caper

University of Massachusetts

Nicholas Čavarocchi

American Academy of Orthopedic

Surgeons

Philip Chen

National Institutes of Health

James Cleeman Jeffrey Cohn Morris Cohen

The Permanence Medical Group

David Collier

James Collier American Society of Internal

Medicine

Shari Cretin

University of California at

Los Angeles

Palmer Dearing Penny Erickson

National Center for Health Statistics

Erik Farag

Health Resources Administration

Paul Gertman

Boston University

Donald Goldstone

National Center for Health Services

Research

Michael Goran

Rockridge Health Care Plan

Jerome Halperin

Food and Drug Administration

James Haug

American College of Surgeons

Charles Heck

American Academy of Orthopedic

Surgeons

Rebecca Hutton

University of Michigan

Patricia Jones

American Nurses' Association

Richard Jones

American Medical Association

American M Jeffrey Koplan

Center for Disease Control

Daniel Koretz

Congressional Budget Office

Marvin Kristein

American Health Foundation

Mark Leasure

American Society of Internal

Medicine

Thomas Louis

Harvard University

Charles Lowe

National Institutes of Health

Harold Luft

University of California at

San Francisco

Robert McCune

National Electrical Manufacturers'

Association

Mark Novitch

Food and Drug Administration

Morton Paterson

Smith, Kline and French

Cezar Perales

Department of Health and Human

Services

Seymour Perry

National Center for Health Care

Technology

Philip Porte

Tabitha Powledge

The Hastings Center

Thomas Preston

U.S. Public Health Service

Debra Reinold

American Hospital Association

Dorothy Rice

National Center for Health Statistics

Wayne Roe

Health Industry Manufacturers'

Association

Noralou Roos

University of Manitoba

Gerald Rosenthal

National Center for Health Services

Research

Louise Russell

The Brookings Institution

Robert Sauer

Food and Drug Administration

Stephen Schiaffino

National Institutes of Health

Stephen Schoenbaum

Peter Bent Brigham Hospital

Michael Schwartz

Boston University

Donald Shepard

Harvard University

George Silver

Yale University

Richard Vilter

American College of Physicians

LeRoy Walters

Georgetown University

Kenneth Warner

University of Michigan

Robert Wetherell

Food and Drug Administration

Albert Williams

The RAND Corp.

Lindsley Williams

National Institute of Mental Health

John Zapp

American Medical Association