## Commissioned Papers, Acknowledgments, and Food and Renewable Resources Program Advisory Committee

## **Commissioned Papers**

The findings and options presented in this report are in large part based on the papers commissioned by OTA for this assessment. These papers were reviewed and critiqued by the workgroups, advisory panel, and outside reviewers. The papers are available in a separate volume through the National Technical Information Service. \* The papers included are:

- Evenson, Robert E., and Bryan D. Wright, "An Evaluation of Methods for Examining the Quality of Agricultural Research."
- Flatt, William P., Hugo 0. Graumann, and Arthur W. Cooper, "Agricultural Research Classification for Management Purposes,"
- French, Charles E., "The Process of Setting Priorities for Food and Agricultural Research."
- Furtick, William R., "The Role of U.S. Food and Agricultural Research in International Agricultural Development."
- Havlicek, Joseph, Jr., and Daniel Otto, "An Historical Analysis of Investment in Food and Agricultural Research."
- Huston, Keith, "Priority Setting Processes in the State Agricultural Experiment Stations."
- Irving, George W., Frederic R. Senti, William T. Pentzer, and Joseph C. Purcell, "The Role of the Public Sector in Agricultural Post-Harvest Technology Research."
- Knutson, Ronald D., Don Paarlberg, and Alex F. McCalla, "Forces Affecting Food and Agricultural Research Decisions."
- Lewontin, Richard C., "Agricultural Research in Private Universities."
- Lovvorn, Roy L., "Effect of Organization, Policy, and Procedures on Research Management."

- Mahlstede, John P., "The Role of the Joint Council on Food and Agricultural Sciences and the National Agricultural Research and Extension Users Advisory Board in Coordinating Research and Determining Research Priorities."
- Moseman, A. H., J. S. Robins, and Harold Wilcke, "The Role of the Federal Government, State Agricultural Experiment Stations, and the Private Sector in Research."
- Ronningen, Thomas S., and Hugo O. Graumann, "Incentives and Disincentives Important to Research Management and Administration."
- Smallwood, Charles M., "The Role of Public State Universities in Food and Agricultural Research."
- Smith, Grahame J. C., "A Comparative Analysis of Selected Non-U.S. Agricultural Research Establishments With the U. S."
- White, Fred C., B. R. Eddleman, and Joseph C. Purcell, "Nature and Flow of Benefits From Food and Agricultural Research."

## Acknowledgments

A large number of individuals and organizations provided valuable advice, assistance, and review of draft reports to OTA during the course of this assessment. In particular, OTA would like to thank the following:

Richard Aldrich University of Missouri

Raymond Altevogt

National Food Processors Association

Edward Anderson

The National Grange

J. L. Apple

North Carolina State University

Tony Babb

Agency for International Development

Emmett Barker

Farm and Industrial Equipment Institute

<sup>\*</sup> Requests for "AnAssessment of the U.S.Food and Agricultural Resea rch System, Volume11—Commissioned Papers" should be directed to:National Technica al Information Service, U., S. Department of Commerce, Springfield, Va. 22151.

Worth Bateman Department of Energy George Benton Department of Commerce Anson Bertrand U.S. Department of Agriculture John Birdsall American Meat Institute Billy Bond Tennessee Valley Authority Nyle Brady Agency for International Development Mark Buchanan Western Association of Agricultural **Experiment Station Directors** Robert Buckman U.S. Department of Agriculture Mahlon Burnette Grocery Manufactures of America Emery Castle Resources for the Future Eloise Clark National Science Foundation John Deutch Department of Energy Johanna Dwyer Frances Stern Nutrition Center Kenneth Farrell U.S. Department of Agriculture Stephen Gage Environmental Protection Agency Dean Gillette **Bell** Laboratories Ellen Haas National Agricultural Research and Extension Users Advisory Board Don Hadwiger Iowa State University James Halpin Southern Agricultural Experiment Stations Charles Hardin University of California Davis Lowell Hardin The Ford Foundation Mark Hegsted U.S. Department of Agriculture John Hood Agricultural Research Institute Keith Huston North Central Regional Association of State Agricultural Experiment Station Directors James Iacona U.S. Department of Agriculture

James Johnston The Rockefeller Foundation Terry Kinney U.S. Department of Agriculture **Robert Kramer** W. K. Kellogg Foundation Gordon Law Department of the Interior Oran Little Experiment Station Committee on **Organizations and Policy Bill Long** Department of State William Marion Institute of Food Technologists James Meyers National Agricultural Research and Extension Users Advisory Board Don Paarlberg Purdue University Willis Powell National Farmers Organization **Denis** Prager Office of Science and Technology Policy John Ragan National Agricultural Research and Extension Users Advisory Board Wayne Rasmussen U.S. Department of Agriculture J. S. Robins Joint Council on Food and Agricultural Sciences Thomas Ronningen Northeast Association of Agricultural **Experiment Stations Directors** R. Dennis Rouse Auburn University O. C. Simpson Association of Research Directors of 1980 Schools and Tuskegee Institute **Charles Smallwood** California State University, Fresno Thomas Sporleder Texas A&M University George Stone National Farmers Union Walter Thomas U.S. Department of Agriculture Robert Wildman National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Phillip Winter Department of Defense Vivian Wiser U.S. Department of Agriculture

Sylvan Wittwer Michigan State University Catherine Woteki U.S. Department of Agriculture

## Food and Renewable Resources Program Advisory Committee

Johanna Dwyer, Chairman Frances Stern Nutrition Center, New England Medical Center Stephen H. Berwick Chief Scientist HDR Sciences Cy Carpenter President Minnesota Farmers Union Eliot Coleman Director Coolidge Center for the Study of Agriculture Richard L. Hall Vice President, Science and Technology McCormick & Co., Inc.

Laura Heuser Agricultural Council of America J. Frank McCormick Professor and Director Graduate Program in Ecology University of Tennessee R. Dennis Rouse Dean, School of Agriculture Auburn University Daryl B. Simons Associate Dean for Engineering Research College of Engineering Colorado State University Thomas Sporleder Department of Agricultural Economics Texas A&M University William Stapp Program Chairperson Behavior and Environment School of Natural Resources University of Michigan Sylvan Wittwer Director and Assistant Dean College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Michigan State University