Appendix J.— Health Program Advisory Committee and Acknowledgments

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sidney S. Lee, Chairman Vice President, Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center

Stuart H. Altman

Florence Heller School Brandeis University

Robert Ball*

Institute of Medicine

National Academy of Sciences

Lewis N. Butler*

Health Policy Program School of Medicine

University of California, San Francisco

Kurt Deuschle

Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Zita Fearon*

Consumer Commission on the Accreditation of Health Services, Inc.

Rashi Fein

Center for Community Health and Medical Care Harvard Medical School

Melvin A. Glasser

Committee for National Health Insurance

Patricia King

Georgetown Law Center

Joyce C. Lashof

School of Public Health

University of California, Berkeley

Mark Lepper

Vice President for Inter-Institutional Affairs Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center

Margaret Mahoney

President

The Commonwealth Fund

Frederick Mosteller

Department of Health Policy and Management Harvard School of Public Health

Beverlee Mvers*

Director

Department of Health Services

State of California

Mitchell Rabkin

General Director Beth Israel Hospital

Dorothy P. Rice

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Richard K. Riegelman

School of Medicine

George Washington University

Walter L. Robb

Vice President and General Manager

Medical Systems Operations

General Electric

Frederick C. Robbins

President

Institute of Medicine

National Academy of Sciences

Rosemary Stevens

Department of History and Sociology of Science

University of Pennsylvania

Kerr White

Deputy Director for Health Sciences

Rockefeller Foundation

[&]quot;Former members of the Health Program Advisory Committee whose terms expired prior to the completion of this study.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

This technical memorandum was prepared with the advice and review of not only the advisory panel for the study but the Health Program Advisory Committee and many other people. The Director of the National Library of Medicine, Martin M. Cummings, the Deputy Director, Kent Smith, and numerous other members of the NLM staff were extremely helpful. OTA staff would also like to thank the following individuals for their valuable contributions.

Scott Adams

Louisville, Ky.

Ken Allen

Office of Management and Budget

William Baker

Bell Telephone Laboratories

Howard Bleich

Beth Israel Hospital

Jane Bortnick

Congressional Research Service

Yale Braunstein

Brandeis University

John Bruer

Macy Foundation

Michael D. Cooper

University of California

Melvin Day

National Technical Information Service

Nancy DeWath

University of California

Jan Egeland

Bibliographic Retrieval Services

Nancy Fazzone

Salem Hospital

Gail Fisher

National Center for Health Statistics

Dorothy Fitzgerald

University of Western Ontario

Allan Fox

Kaye, Scholar, Fierman, Hays & Handler

Oswald Ganley

Harvard University

Carole Ganz

National Science Foundation

James Hahn

Veterans Administration

Joseph Heinmiller

National Institute of Education

Sherrill Hites

Harvard Medical School

Mary Horres

University of North Carolina

David Hoyt

National Agricultural Library

Edward J. Huth

American College of Physicians

Laura Kassebaum

Bibliographic Retrieval Services

Gertrude Lamb

Hartford Hospital

Joan Marshall

McMaster University

Nina Matheson

Association of American Medical Colleges

Grace McCarn

H. W. Wilson Co.

H. Calvin Meadows

National Health Planning Information Center

Peggy Miller

Kaye, Scholer, Fierman, Hays and Handler

Lynne Neufeld

Federation of Abstracting & Indexing Services

L. Daniel O'Neill

Advanced Computer Techniques

Raymond Palmer

Medical Library Association

Michael Pollard

Federal Trade Commission

Johnathan Ruby

Elscint Corp.

William Schecterley

General Accounting Office

Charles W. Sergeant

Texas Technical University

Winifred Sewell

University of Maryland

Vladimir Šlamecka

Georgia Institute of Technology

John Timour

University of Pennsylvania Medical School

Richard Tuev

Department of Health and Human Services

James Ullom

National Center for Health Services Research

Rick Weingarten

Office of Technology Assessment

William J. Welsh

The Library of Congress

Jane Sisk Willems

Office of Technology Assessment

Martha Williams

University of Illinois

Richard Willard

Information Industry Association

Marvin Wilson

National Technical Information Service

Paul Zurkowski

Information Industry Association