Appendix B.—Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee

The development of this assessment was greatly aided by the advice and review of a number of people in addition to the Advisory Panel and the Health Program Advisory Committee. OTA staff would like to express their appreciation especially to the following individuals:

Joel Broida

Health Care Financing Administration

John P. Bunker

Stanford University

Marc Chassin

Los Angeles, Calif.

Dennis Cotter

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Philip Cotterill

Health Care Financing Administration

J. Richard Crout

National Institutes of Health

Helen Darling

Government Research Corp., Washington, D.C.

Palmer Dearing

Blue Cross Blue Shield Association

Ginette Fowles

Stanford University

Paul Ginsburg

Congressional Budget Office

Mark Goodhart

American Hospital Association

Ruth S. Hanft

Washington, D.C.

Charles Helbing

Health Care 'Financing Administration

John C. Langenbrunner

Health Care Financing Administration

Joseph Lipscomb

Duke University

Bryan R. Luce

Health Care Financing Administration

Glenn Markus

Health Policy Alternatives, Inc.

Washington, D.C.

John E. Marshall

National Center for Health Services Research

Thomas McElvogue

Blue Cross of Greater Philadelphia

Mary Lou McIntyre

Health Care Financing Administration

John Reiss

Dechert, Price & Rhodes, Philadelphia, Pa.

Thomas Rice

University of North Carolina

Sheila Ryan

Health Care Financing Administration

Leonard Saxe

Boston University

Marvin Shapiro

U.S. Administrators Inc., Los Angeles, Calif.

Bruce C. Vladeck

United Hospital Fund of New York

Irwin Wolkstein

Health Policy Alternatives, Inc.

Washington, D.C.

Craig Wright

Health Care Financing Administration

James M. Young

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Massachusetts

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sidney S. Lee, Committee *Chair*President, Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center

Stuart H. Altman'

Dean Florence Heller School

Brandeis University

H. David Banta Deputy Director

Pan American Health Organization

Carroll L. Estes**

Chair

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Robert Evans Professor

Department of Economics University of British Columbia

Rashi Fein **Professor**

Department of Social Medicine and Health Policy

Harvard Medical School

Harvey V. Fineberg

Dean, School of Public Health

Harvard University

Melvin A. Glasser***

Director

Health Security Action Council

Patricia King Professor

Georgetown Law Center

Joyce C. Lashof

Dean, School of Public Health University of California, Berkeley

Margaret Mahoney* ***

President

The Commonwealth Fund

New York, N.Y.

Frederick Mosteller Professor and Chair

Department of Health Policy and Management

School of Public Health Harvard University

Senior Advisor

Nora Piore

The Commonwealth Fund

New York, N.Y.

Mitchell Rabkin*

President

Beth Israel Hospital

Boston, Mass.

Dorothy P. Rice Regents Lecturer

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Richard K. Riegelman Associate Professor School of Medicine

George Washington University

Walter L. Robb

Vice President and General Manager

Medical Systems Operations

General Electric Milwaukee, Wis.

Frederick C. Robbins

President

Institute of Medicine

Rosemary Stevens

Professor

Department of History and Sociology of Science

University of Pennsylvania

^{&#}x27;until April 1983.

^{* •} UntJ March 1984

^{.&}quot;Until October 1983

[&]quot; 'Until August 1983