Technology, Innovation, and Regional Economic Development

July 1984

NTIS order #PB85-150894



Recommended Citation:

*Technology,* Innovation, and Regional Economic Development: Encouraging High-Technology Development–Background Paper #2 (Washington, D. C.: U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, OTA-BP-STI-25, February 1984).

Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 84-601013

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. 20402

## Preface

This background paper contains information gathered by OTA during its assessment of *Technology, Innovation, and Regional Economic Development.* The information is being made available at the request of Committees of Congress, State and local officials, and others with an interest in high-technology development programs that are being mounted at the State and local levels. OTA hopes that its timely publication will prove helpful to readers who have an immediate need for more detailed information than will be available in the formal report of this assessment.

## Technology, Innovation, and Regional Economic Development Advisory Panel

William C. Norris, *Chairman Chairman and CEO, Control Data Corp.* 

William J. Abernathy\* Graduate School of Business Harvard University

William F. Aikman President Massachusetts Technology Development Corp.

Hon. Henry Cisneros Mayor San Antonio, Tex.

Ella Francis President Parkside Association of Philadelphia

Aaron Gellman President Gellman Research Associates, Inc.

Don Lee Gevirtz Chairman The Foothill Group, Inc.

George W. Haigh President and CEO The Toledo Trust Co.

Quentin Lindsey Science and Public Policy Advisor Office of the Governor State of North Carolina Neal R. Peirce Contributing Editor National Journal

David V. Ragone President Case Western Reserve University

J. David Roessner Technology and Science Policy Program School of Social Sciences Georgia Institute of Technology

John Stewart Assistant General Manager Tennessee Valley Authority

Ellen Sulzberger Straus President, WMCA Radio Member, New York City Partnership

Alexander B. Trowbridge President National Association of Manufacturers

Thomas L. Yount, Jr. Commissioner of Employment Security State of Tennessee

The Advisory Panel has provided advice and suggestions, but it does not necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse the contents of this background paper, for which OTA assumes full responsibility.

\*Deceased.

## OTA Technology, Innovation, and Regional Economic Development Project Staff

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

William F. Mills,\* and Nancy Naismith,\*\* *Program Manager Science, Transportation, and Innovation Program* 

> Paul B. Phelps, Project Director Barry J. Holt, Analyst
> Caroline S. Wagner, Research Assistant\*
> Jeffrey E. Seifert, Research Assistant\*\*
> Brian R. Land, Research Assistant\*\*\* Student Intern (fall 1983)
> Jay M. Berman, Student Intern (fall 1982)
> Mary Ann Wall, Student Intern (spring 1983)
> D. Douglas Caulkins, Faculty Intern (fall 1983)

Marsha Fenn, *Administrative Assistant* R. Bryan Harrison, Office *Systems Coordinator* 

## Contractors

Renee A. Berger The Fantus Co., Charles Ford Harding, *Principal Investigator* John Rees, *Syracuse University* Research Triangle Institute, Alvin M. Cruze, *Principal Investigator* Rhett D. Speer Carol Steinbach

OTA Publishing Staff

John C. Holmes, Publishing Officer

John Bergling Kathie S. Boss Reed Bundy Debra M. Datcher

Glenda Lawing

Joe Henson

Linda A. Leahy

Cheryl J. Manning

\*Through September 1983.

\*\* After September 1983.

\*\*\* After January **1984.**