Princeton University Jazz Ensemble banner

Home
The Program »
Course Offerings
Performances »
Sound Clips
Rehearsals
Roster
Contact


Director
Dr. Anthony DJ Branker

Department of Music
Woolworth Center
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ
08544


Rehearsal and Concert Schedule

SPRING 2014

Tuesday, February 4

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

Wednesday, February 5

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingusl Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Thursday, February 6 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Tuesday, February 11 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, February 12

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingusl Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Jazz Vespers at the University Chapel
University Jazz Vespers Ensemble
8:00 pm

Thursday, February 13

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

University Jazztet
at Cafe Vivian, Frist Campus Center
11:00 pm

Tuesday, February 18

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

Wednesday, February 19

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingusl Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Thursday, February 20

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

Friday, February 21

University Concert Jazz Ensemble performs at "This is Princeton"
9:00 pm
, Richardson Auditorium

Saturday, February 22

“Composing-in-the-Moment” Jazz Faculty Recital with Ralph Bowen (tenor saxophone), Bruce Arnold (guitar), Michael Cochrane (piano), Brian Glassman (bass), Vince Ector (drums), Dr. Anthony Branker (musical director, composer)
8:00 pm, Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall

Sunday, February 23 Jazz Vespers at the University Chapel
University Jazz Vespers Ensemble
11:00 am Service
Tuesday, February 25 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, February 26

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingusl Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Thursday, February 27

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30 - 6:30 pm
MANDATORY DRESS REHEARSAL
with trumpeter Valery Ponomarev

Saturday, March 1

The 3rd Annual Columbia/Princeton Jazz Summit featuring the Columbia University Jazz Program, Dr. Chris Washburne and the Princeton University Jazz Composers Project, Dr. Anthony D.J. Branker plus the University Concert Jazz Ensemble conducted by Dr. Branker with guest soloist, trumpeter Valery Ponomarev performing music from the Valery Ponomarev Big Band “Our Father Who Art Blakey”

8:00 pm, Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall
(3:30 pm CJE Rhythm Section sound check)
(4:00 pm CJE Full Ensemble sound check)
(5:30 pm Coumbia Jazz Program sound check)

Tuesday, March 4 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, March 5

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingusl Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Thursday, March 6

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

University Monk/Mingus Ensemble
at Cafe Vivian, Frist Campus Center
11:00 pm

Tuesday, March 11 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, March 12

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingus Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

Jazz Vespers at the University Chapel
University Jazz Vespers Ensemble
8:00 pm

Thursday, March 13 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
March 18-20 NO REHEARSALS
Tuesday, March 25 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, March 26 Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingus Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]
Thursday, March 27

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

Tuesday, April 1

Concert Jazz Ensemble (Saxophone & Rhythm Sections): 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, April 2

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingus Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]

University Jazz Vocal Collective & Crossing Borders Improvisational Music Ensemble at Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall
8:00 pm (6:00 pm sound check)

Thursday, April 3

Concert Jazz Ensemble (Brass Section): 4:30-6:30 pm

Tuesday, April 8 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, April 9 Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingus Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1] Crossing Borders Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [McAlpin]
Thursday, April 10

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

University Herbie Hancock Ensemble
at Cafe Vivian, Frist Campus Center
11:00 pm

Tuesday, April 15 Concert Jazz Ensemble (Saxophone & Rhythm Sections): 4:30 - 6:30 pm
Wednesday, April 16

Jazz Vocal Collective: 7:00-9:00 pm [McAlpin]
Herbie Hancock Ensemble: 7:30-9:00 pm [Rm 1]
Monk/Mingus Ensemble: 9:30-11:00 pm [Rm 1]

Thursday, April 17 Concert Jazz Ensemble (Brass Section): 4:30-6:30 pm
Saturday, April 19

Jazz Vocalist Charmaine Lee
Senior Recital for Program in Musical Performance
8:00 pm, Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall

Tuesday, April 22

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm

Wednesday, April 23

Omar Sosa Master Class: 7:30 - 9:30 pm [McAlpin]MANDATORY SESSION

Thursday, April 24

Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Omar Sosa Performance/Talk
6:00-8:00 pm, Whitman College

Saturday, April 26

Afro-Cuban pianist/composer Omar Sosa & His Quartet
Berlind Theatre @ McCarter Theatre, 8:00 pm

Sunday, April 27

Jazz Vocalist Amali Gunawardana
Senior Recital
7:30 pm, Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall

Tuesday, April 29 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Wednesday, April 30

Master Class with Percussionist Renato Thoms
"Latin Music Rhythm Section Performance" (Mandatory for All Small Group & Big Band Rhythm Section Members; Other Instrumentalists & Vocalists are Greatly Encouraged to Attend)

7:30-9:30 pm [McAlpin]

Thursday, May 1 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Tuesday, May 6 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
Thursday, May 8 Concert Jazz Ensemble: 4:30-6:30 pm
MANDATORY DRESS REHEARSAL
Saturday, May 10

University Concert Jazz Ensemble with
The Respect Sextet

8:00 pm, Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall
(3:30 pm CJE Rhythm Section sound check)
(4:00 pm CJE Full Ensemble sound check)
(5:30 pm Resepct Sextet sound check)
Sunday, May 18

Jazz Drummer Phil McNeal
Senior Recital for Program in Musical Performance
3:00 pm, Taplin Auditorium in Fine Hall