Data Format Standards for Civilian Remote Sensing Satellites

May 1993

OTA-BP-ISC-114 NTIS order #PB93-192290

Data Format Standards for Civilian Remote Sensing Satellites



An OTA Background Paper



Office of Technology Assessment Congressional Board of the 103d Congress

EDWARD M. KENNEDY, Massachusetts, Chairman

DON SUNDQUIST, Tennessee, Vice Chairman

Senate House

ERNEST F. HOLLINGS, South Carolina CLAIBORNE PELL, Rhode Island ORRIN G. HATCH, Utah CHARLES E. GRASSLEY, Iowa DAVE DURENBERGER, Minnesota GEORGE E. BROWN, JR., California JOHN D. DINGELL, Michigan (Vacancy) AMO HOUGHTON, New York MICHAEL G. OXLEY, Ohio

ROGER HERD MAN (Nonvoting)

Advisory Council

JOSHUA LEDERBERG, Chairman Professor, Rockefeller University New York, New York HERBERT (TED) DOAN President (Ret.), The Dow Chemical Company Midland, Michigan

CHASE N. PETERSON President Emeritus and Professor University of Utah Salt Lake City, Utah

NEIL E. HARL, Vice Chairman Professor, Department of Economics Iowa State University Ames, Iowa MICHEL T. HALBOUTY Chairman of the Board& Chief Executive Officer Michel T. Halbouty Energy Co. Houston, Texas JOSEPH E. ROSS Director, Congressional Research Service The Library of Congress Washington, D.C.

CHARLES A. BOWSHER Comptroller General of the United States Washington, D.C.

JAMES C. HUNT
Distinguished Professor, Health
Sciences Center
University of Tennessee
Memphis, Tennessee

JOHN F.M. SIMS Vice President, Marketing Usibelli Coal Mine, Inc. Fairbanks, Alaska

LEWIS M. BRANSCOMB
Director, Science, Technology &
Public
Policy Program, Harvard
University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

MAX LENNON President, Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina MARINA v.N. WHITMAN Professor, Institute of Public Policy Studies University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan

Acting Director ROGER HERDMAN

The views expressed in this background paper are not necessarily those of the Board, OTA Advisory Council, on individual members thereof.

Earth Observation Systems Advisory Panel

Rodney Nichols, *Chair*New York Academy of Sciences
New York, NY

James G. Anderson

Professor

Department of Chemistry

Harvard University

Cambridge, MA

D. James Baker

Director

Joint Oceanographic Institutions, Inc.

Washington, DC

William Brown

President

ERIM Corporation

Ann Arbor, MI

Ronald Brunner

Professor

Center for Public Policy Research

University of Colorado

Boulder, CO

Joanne Gabrynowicz

Associate Professor

Department of Space Studies

University of North Dakota

Grand Forks, ND

Alexander F.H. Goetz

Director

Center for the Study of Earth from Space

University of Colorado

Boulder, CO

David Goodenough

Chief Research Scientist

Pacific Forestry Center

Forestry Canada

Victoria, BC

Donald Latham

Corporate Director

Loral Corporation

Reston, VA

Cecil E. Leith

Physicist

Lawrence Livermore National

Laboratory

Livermore, CA

John H. McElroy

Dean of Engineering

The University of Texas at Arlington

Arlington, TX

Molly McCauley

Fellow

Resources for the Future

Washington, DC

Earl Merritt

Vice President, Research

Earthsat Corporation

Rockville, MD

Alan Miller Director The Center for Global Change University of Maryland College Park, MD

Raymond E. Miller Professor Department of Computer Science University of Maryland College Park, MD

Kenneth Pederson Research Professor of International Affairs School of Foreign Service Georgetown University Washington, DC David T. Sandwell Geological Resources Division Scripps Institute of Oceanography La Jolla, CA

Dorm Walklet President TerraNOVA International Los Altos, CA

Albert Wheelon Consultant Los Angeles, CA

NOTE: OTA appreciates and is grateful for the valuable assistance and thoughtful critiques provided by the advisory panel members. The panel does not, however, necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse this background paper. OTA assumes full responsibility for the background paper and the accuracy of its contents.

OTA Project Staff—Data Format Standards for Civilian Remote Sensing Satellites

Lionel S. Johns, *Assistant Director, OTA*Energy, Materials, and International Security Division
(through February 1993)

Peter Blair, Acting Assistant Director, OTA Energy, Materials, and International Security Division (from February 1993)

Alan Shaw, International Security and Commerce Program Manager

Ray A. Williamson, Project Director

Brian McCue

Contractor

Madeline Gross

Administrative Staff

Jacqueline R. Boykin

Louise Staley

Workshop-Formats, Media and Standards for Civilian Remotely Sensed Data October 2, 1992

Donald Artis
Director
CETEC-ZC-B
U.S. Army Topographic
Engineering Center

Jill Butler, Major, USA Central Imagery Office

Kenneth Daugherty Chief Scientist Defense Mapping Agency

Jim Frey
Program Manager
NPIC
National Exploitation Laboratory

D. Brian Gordon
Chairman
Tactical & Military Multispectral
Requirements Working Group
Defense Intelligence Agency

William Kennedy Hughes STX

Lon Naylor NPIC Exploitation Support Group

NOTE: OTA appreciates and is grateful for the valuable assistance and thoughtful critiques provided by the workshop participants. The panel does not, however, necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse this background paper. OTA assumes full responsibility for the background paper and the accuracy of its contents.