## Technology assessment advisory council



The Technology Assessment
Advisory Council (TAAC) was
established by OTA's statute, and
members are appointed by OTA's
Congressional Technology
Assessment Board (TAB). The
Council advises TAB and the
Director on issues and other
matters related to science,
technology, and technology
assessment.

Neil E. Harl, Chairman
Dr. Harl is the Charles F. Curtiss
Distinguished Professor of Economics at Iowa State University,
where he has served on the
faculty since 1964.

James Hunt, Vice Chairman
Dr. Hunt is Distinguished Professor, Health Sciences Center, at the
University of Tennessee in Memphis. He previously served as
Chancellor of the Health Science
Center and as the Dean of
Medicine for the University. Prior
to joining the University, he served
as Chairman of the Department
of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic.

Lewis M. Branscomb

Dr. Branscomb is the Albert Pratt

Public Service Professor at

Harvard's John F. Kennedy School

of Government. He is a former

executive of International Business

Machines. Prior to joining IBM, he

was the Director of the National

Bureau of Standards.

Herbert D. (Ted) Dean

Mr. Doan is a Partner with Doan

Associates. He was Chairman and

Founder of Doan Resources

Corporation. He served as

President of the Dow Chemical

Company for nine years.

Joshuca Lederberg

Dr. Lederberg was President of

Rockefeller University, New York.

He is the former Chairman of the

Department of Genetics at

Stanford University School of Medicine. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and is a Nobel Laureate in Physiology and Medicine.

## Max Lennon

Dr. Lennon is President of
Clemson University. He previously
served on the faculties of Ohio
State University, (Vice-President for
Agricultural Administration and
Executive Dean for Agriculture,
Home Economics and Natural
Resources), University of Missouri,
and Texas Tech University.

Thomas J. Perkins
Mr. Perkins is the General Partner
of Kleiner & Perkins in San
Francisco. He held a number of
positions with Hewlett Packard
Company, most recently as
Assistant Manager, Corporate
Research Laboratories. He also
served as Vice President, Marketing with Optics Technology, Inc.
and as an Electrical Engineer with
Sperry Corporation.

Chase N. Peterson

Dr. Peterson is President Emeritus

of the University of Utah. He

practiced medicine at the Salt

Lake Clinic and taught at the LDS

Hospital and University of Utah Medical School until his appointment as Dean of Admissions and Financial Aids at Harvard College. There he also served as Vice President for Alumni Affairs and Development. Dr. Peterson returned to the University of Utah in 1978 as Vice President for Health Sciences, and has served as University President since 1983.

John F. M. Sims

Dr. Sims is Vice President for Marketing for Usibelli Coal Mine, Inc. He previously served as Director of the Office of Mineral Development with the Alaska Department of Commerce and Economic Development. Dr. Sims also taught Geological Engineering at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks.

Marina v.N. Whitman

Dr. Whitman is a Professor at the
Institute of Public Policy Studies at
the University of Michigan.

Previously she sewed as the Vice
President and Group Executive for
Public Affairs Staff Group at
General Motors Corporation. She
also served as Vice President and

Chief Economist at General Motors. Prior to joining General Motors she taught at the University of Pittsburgh.

## **Statutory Members**

Charles A. Bowsher

Mr. Bowsher is Comptroller

General of the United States and

Director of the U. S. General

Accounting Office.

Joseph E. Ross Mr. Ross is Director of the Congressional Research Service, U. S. Library of Congress.