Appendix C.—Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee

OTA would like to thank the members of the advisory panel who commented on drafts of this report and the contractors who provided material for this assessment. In addition, OTA acknowledges the following individuals and groups for their assistance in reviewing drafts or furnishing information and materials:

Lori Abrams Public Citizen

Theme Auchter

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Peter Barth

University of Connecticut

Cynthia Bascetta

General Accounting Office

David Bell

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Alfred Blackman Potomac, MD

Leslie Boden Harvard University Mary Jane Belle

Congressional Research Service

Nancy Bollinger

National Institute for Occupational Safety

and Health Queta Bond

National Research Council

Patricia Breslin

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Thomas Brown
Department of Labor
Sandra Christensen

Congressional Budget Office

Patrick Coleman

National Institute for Occupational Safety

and Health

Geraldine Cox Chemical Manufacturers Association

Thomas Crane

Office of Representative Barney Frank

Raymond Donnelly

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Joseph DuBois

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.

Wilmington, DE

Joseph Durst

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America

Paul Dwyer

House Committee on Education and Labor

James Foster

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Frank Frodyma

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Sara Garrison-Leo

E. I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Anthony Goldin

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Morris Gordy

Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.

Bengt Gustafsson Swedish Embassy

Walter Haag

National Institute for Occupational Safety

and Health

Daniel Ham

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Carmen Harleston

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Daniel Hoeschen

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Thomas Holzman

Department of Labor, Office of the Soliciter

John Inzana

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Daniel Jacoby

Department of Labor, Office of the Soliciter

William Johnson Syracuse University

John Katalinas

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Ruth Knight

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Akio Konoshima

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

David LeGrande

Communication Workers of America

J. William Lloyd

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Jeremiah Lynch Exxon Chemical Co.

Mark MacCarthy

House Committee on Energy and Commerce

Judson MacLaury

Department of Labor, Historical Office

L. M. Magner

E. I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Andre Maisonpierre

Alliance of American Insurers

J. A. Martin

United Technologies

J. Donald Millar

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing (3M)

St. Paul, MN

Benjamin Mintz American University

Franklin Mirer

United Automobile Workers

National Institute for Occupational Safety

and Health

Atlanta, GA, Cincinnati, OH, and

Morgantown, WV

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Washington, DC

John Page

E. I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Randy Rabinowitz

Zwerdling, Schlossberg, Leibig, & Kahn

Knut Ringen

National Cancer Institute

Anthony Robbins

House Committee on Energy and Commerce

Frank Rosenthal

The Johns Hopkins University

John Russell

Timonium, MD

Herbert Schaffer

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Lyle Schauer

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Scott Schneider

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America

Jack Snyder Merck & Co.

Kate Sommers

National Research Council

Dorothy Strunk

House Committee on Education and Labor

John Tritsch

American Textile Manufacturers Institute

Ralph Vernon

Texas A&M University

Frank Wilcher

Safety Equipment Institute

Donald P. Wilmes

Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing (3M)

Sidney Wolfe Public Citizen

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sidney S. Lee, *Committee Chair* President, Milbank Memorial Fund New York, NY

Stuart H. Altman*

Dean

Florence Heller School Brandeis University Waltham, MA

H. David Banta Deputy Director

Pan American Health Organization

Washington, DC

Carroll L. Estes**

Chair

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

San Francisco, CA

Rashi Fein Professor

Department of Social Medicine and Health Policy

Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA

Harvey V. Fineberg

Dean

School of Public Health Harvard University Boston, MA

Melvin A. Glasser***

Director

Health Security Action Council

Committee for National Health Insurance

Washington, DC

Patricia King Professor

Georgetown Law Center

Washington, DC

Joyce C. Lashof

Dean

School of Public Health

University of California, Berkeley

Berkeley, CA

Alexander Leaf

Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital

Boston, MA

Margaret Mahoney*

President

The Commonwealth Fund

New York, NY

Frederick Mosteller Professor and Chair

Department of Health Policy and Management

School of Public Health Harvard University Boston, MA

Norton Nelson

Professor

Department of Environmental Medicine New York University Medical School

New York, NY

Robert Oseasohn Associate Dean

University of Texas, San Antonio

San Antonio, TX

Nora Piore Senior Advisor

The Commonwealth Fund

New York, NY

Mitchell Rabkin**

President

Beth Israel Hospital

Boston, MA

Dorothy P. Rice Regents Lecturer

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

San Francisco, CA

[●] Until April 1983. ● *Until March 19S4.

^{• **}Until October 1983.

[&]quot;Until August 1983.

● *Until April 1983.

Richard K. Riegelman Associate Professor George Washington University School of Medicine Washington, DC

Walter L. Robb Vice President and General Manager **Medical Systems Operations** General Electric Co. Milwaukee, WI

Frederick C. Robbins President **Institute of Medicine** Washington, DC

Rosemary Stevens Professor Department of History and Sociology of Science University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA