Appendix G Acknowledgments

OTA would like to thank the members of the advisory panel who commented on drafts of this report, the contractors who provided material for this assessment, and the many individuals and organizations that supplied information for the study. In addition, OTA acknowledges the following individuals for their review of drafts of this report:

Robert F. Acker National Foundation for Infectious Diseases

James Aftosmis E.I. du Pent de Nemours and Co., Inc.

Donald G. Ahearn Georgia State University

Gwynn C. Akin Syntex Corporation

Robert L. Alkire Society of Toxicologic Pathologists

Douglas L. Archer Food and Drug Administration

John L. Bartholomew U.S. Army

Michael Balls Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments

Edward M. Barrows Georgetown University

George W. Beran Iowa State University

Richard N. Bergman University of Southern California

Emmanuel M. Bernstein Psychologists for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Keith A. Booman Soap and Detergent Association

Arnold P. Borsetti Food and Drug Administration

Joseph F. Borzelleca Medical College of Virginia

Richard C. Bostwick Merck and Company, Inc.

Richard P. Bradbury Food and Drug Administration

John E. Burris National Research Council Jack L. Carter Biological Sciences Curriculum Study

Charles B. Cleveland Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association

Eileen M. Cline Springfield, VA

Thomas G. Coleman University of Mississippi School of Medicine

Frances K. Conley Stanford University Medical School

Charles E. Cover E.I. du Pent de Nemours and Co., Inc.

Geraldine V. Cox Chemical Manufacturers Association

Paul N. Craig Shady Side, MD

Arthur L. Craigmill University of California, Davis

Lester M. Crawford Food and Drug Administration

Lloyd E. Davis The University of Illinois

Mary Dawson University of Strathclyde

Charles DeLisi National Cancer Institute

Kennerly H. Digges National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Rebecca Dresser Baylor College of Medicine

Ronald Dubner National Institute for Dental Research

Sarah Wells Duffy U.S. House of Representatives

James L. Dwyer Millipore Corporation David M. Ferguson ICI Americas, Inc.

Kenneth D. Fisher Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Michael Allen Fox Queen's University

Gordon G. Gallup, Jr. State University of New York at Albany

Roger W. Galvin Animal Legal Defense Fund of Washington, DC

William I. Gay National Institutes of Health

Michael A. Giannelli The Fund for Animals, Inc.

Robert P. Giovacchini The Gillette Company

Dawn G. Goodman American College of Veterinary Pathology

L. Barry Goss Battelle—Columbus Laboratories

Sidney Green Food and Drug Administration

Lowe]] M. Greenbaum Medical College of Georgia

Earl W. Grogan National Research Council

Francis J. Haddy Uniformed Services University for the Health Sciences

Richard E. W. Halliwell University of Florida School of Medicine

Harlyn O. Halvorson Brandeis University

Thomas E. Harem Stanford University Medical School

F. Gene Hampton National Science Teachers Association

David G. Hattan Food and Drug Administration

George A. Hedge West Virginia University Medical Center Lee A. Heilman American Association for the Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care

Joe R. Held Pan American Zoonoses Center

John R. Herbold Department of Defense

Henry R. Hertzfeld Washington, DC

Karen M. Hiiemae The University of Illinois at Chicago

Larry Horton Stanford University

Peter J. Hyde International League for Animal Rights

Robert Kainz Walkersville, MD

Gerald S. Kanter Albany Medical College

Donald Kennedy Stanford University

Keith F. Killam, Jr. University of California, Davis

Robert W. Krauss Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Sienna LaRene Michigan Humane Society

C. Max Lang The Pennsylvania State University

Thomas W. Langfitt The University of Pennsylvania

Victor G. Laties University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Chung Lee Northwestern University Medical School

Joel L. Mattsson Dow Chemical U.S.A.

Charles R. McCarthy National Institutes of Health Basil E. McKenzie Ortho Pharmaceutical Corporation

Donald E. McMillan University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Donald R. Meyer The Ohio State University

Joel A. Michael Rush-Presbyterian-St, Luke's Medical Center

Robert J. Moolenaar American Industrial Health Council

John A. Moore Environmental Protection Agency

Ray E. Moseley University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Thomas H. Moss Case Western Reserve University

Laila A. Moustafa World Health Organization

Arnauld E. Nicogossian National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Sharon J. Northup Travenol Laboratories, Inc.

Mike G. Norton British Embassy

Karl Johan Obrink Uppsala Biomedicinska Centrum

F. Barbara Orlans Scientists Center for Animal Welfare

Bennie I. Osburn University of California, Davis

Robert E. Osterberg Food and Drug Administration

Alex Pacheco People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Douglas L. Park Food and Drug Administration

Paul C. Rambaut National Aeronautics and Space Administration

B. Randall, IV Congressional Research Service

Walter C. Randall Loyola University Medical Center Tom Regan North Carolina State University

Conrad B. Richter National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Carol F. Rodgers U.S. House of Representatives

Bernard E. Rollin Colorado State University

Walter G. Rosen National Research Council

Carl F. Rothe Indiana University School of Medicine

Harry C. Rowsell University of Ottawa

H. Rozemond Staatstoezicht op de Volksgezondheid

Thomas D. Sabourin Battelle—Columbus Laboratories

Jonathan D. Sackner Philadelphia, PA

William M. Samuels American Physiological Society

Robert A. Scala Exxon Corporation

Trevor H. Scott World Society for the Protection of Animals

Fred R. Shank Food and Drug Administration

Kenneth J. Shapiro Psychologists for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

John F. Sherman Association of American Medical Colleges

Charles E. Short New York State College of Veterinary Medicine

Lee R. Shun University of California, Davis

Robert S. Shurtleff Springfield, MA

Evan B. Siegel The Proprietary Association

Sidney Siegel National Library of Medicine Richard C. Simmonds Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Peter Singer Monash University

Cheryl L. Sisk Michigan State University

Kendric C. Smith Stanford University Medical School

Judy A. Spitzer Louisiana State University Medical Center

Dennis M. Stark The Rockefeller University

Donald G. Stein Clark University

Marshall Steinberg Society of Toxicology

Christine Stevens Society for Animal Protective Legislation

Irving 1. A. Tabachnick Schering Corporation

Dennis J. Taylor Rhodes and Taylor

J. W. Thiessen Department of Energy

Robert Thomas U.S. Department of Energy

Ethel Thurston American Fund for Alternatives to Animal Research Charles S. Tidball George Washington University Medical Center

Richard J. Traystman The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Bruce L. Umminger National Science Foundation

James Vorosmarti, Jr. Department of Defense

William J. Waddell University of Louisville School of Medicine

James R. Walker The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

John S. Wassom Oak Ridge National Laboratory

William L. West Howard University College of Medicine

James A. Will University of Wisconsin Research Animal Resources Center

James Willett National Institutes of Health

Robert P. Williams Baylor College of Medicine

Steven M. Wise Attorneys for Animal Rights (Boston), Inc.

Earl H. Wood Mayo Foundation and Mayo Medical School

Constantine J. Zervos Food and Drug Administration