The Regulatory Environment for Science

February 1986

NTIS order #PB86-182003

THE REGULATORY ENVIRONMENT FOR SCIENCE

A TECHNICAL MEMORANDUM

PERSONALLY 1986



Recommended Citation:

U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, The *Regulatory Environment for Science*—A Technical Memorandum, OTA-TM-SET-34 (Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, February 1986).

Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 86-600503

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402

Foreword

The vitality of American science is a principal component of our country's economic and intellectual success. Congress, among other institutions, bears responsibility for nurturing creativity and exploration in science while providing appropriate safeguards. Various direct and indirect forces, however, are continually altering the agenda for scientific endeavor, its methods and practices, and the dissemination of results. It is therefore essential that Congress, in providing direction and funding for science at the Federal level, understands these forces and how they are changing.

This technical memorandum, requested by the Task Force on Science Policy of the House Committee on Science and Technology, provides a "snapshot" of factors affecting science in the 1980s, and focuses on emerging issues that will require consideration by Congress.

JOHN H. GIBBONS

John H. Sibbous

Director

Regulatory Environment for Science OTA Project Staff

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

Nancy Carson Naismith
Science, Education, and Transportation Program Manager

Project Staff

Marcel C. LaFollette, *Project Director, OTA Fellow*Kathi Hanna Mesirow, *Analyst*Barbara Berman, *Research Analyst*Eugene Frankel, *Senior Analyst*

Administrative Staff

Marsha Fenn, Administrative Assistant
Betty Jo Tatum, Secretary
Christopher Clary, Secretary
Gala Adams, Clerical Assistant

Contractors

Michael S. Baram Bracken and Baram

Sheldon Krimsky
Department of Urban and Environmental Policy
Tufts University

Jon D. Miller Public Opinion Laboratory Northern Illinois University

Dorothy Nelkin
Program on Science, Technology, and Society
Cornell University

Regulatory Environment for Science Advisory Panel

Harvey Brooks, *Chairman*Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy
Harvard University

Diana Dutton School of Medicine Stanford University

Harold P. Green Associate Dean for Post J.D. Studies The National Law Center George Washington University

Clifford Grobstein Department of Biological Science and Public Policy University of California, San Diego

Irving S. Johnson Vice President of Research Lilly Research Laboratories Jonathan A. King Professor of Molecular Biology Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alan McGowan President Scientists' Institute for Public Information

John Shattuck Vice President of Government, Community, and Public Affairs Harvard University

Contributors

Philip Alexander

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nicholas A. Ashford

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

R.J. Augustine

National Institutes of Health

George Bush

Council on Governmental Relations

Daniel Callahan The Hastings Center

Arthur Caplan The Hastings Center

Rosemary Chalk

American Association for the Advancement of Science

David Cheney

U.S. Congress, Library of Congress Congressional Research Service

Daryl E. Chubin

Georgia Institute of Technology

Mary E. Curtis

John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

John Doble

The Public Agenda Foundation

George Dummer

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John T. Edsall Harvard University

Howard Gobstein

U.S. General Accounting Office

Milton Goldberg

Council on Governmental Relations

Loren Graham

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Susan P. Hadden

University of Texas, Austin

Judith C. Harris Arthur D. Little, Inc.

Gerald Holton Harvard University

Eric Holtzman Columbia University Deborah Marquis Kelly

American Psychological Association

Melvin Kranzberg

Georgia Institute of Technology

Sanford P. Lakoff

University of California, San Diego

Rachel Levinson

National Institutes of Health

Charles MacKay

National Institutes of Health

Louis Menand

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alexander Morin

National Science Foundation

Herbert Morton

American Council of Learned Societies

Thomas H. Moss

Case Western Reserve University

Thomas Murray Medical Branch

University of Texas, Galveston

Mark V. Nadel

U.S. General Accounting Office

Dorothy Nelkin Cornell University

Robert Newton

National Science Foundation

Robert Pearson

Social Science Research Council

Carroll Pursell

University of California, Santa Barbara

Harold Relyea

U.S. Congress, Library of Congress Congressional Research Service

Sal Restivo

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Jurgen Schmandt

University of Texas, Austin

Jeffrey K. Stine

U.S. House of Representatives

Committee on Science and Technology

Judith Swazey Acadia Institute

Ed Tocus

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Charles Weiner

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dael Wolfle

University of Washington, Seattle

Leo Young

U.S. Department of Defense