APPENDIX A

INTERVIEW LIST

David C. Allison Professor and Chair Biology Department Monmouth College

Joseph Arrigo Former Manager for Research Process Division Universal Oil Products

Angelo Bardessus Associate Chairman for Educational Affairs Physics Department University of Maryland

Eileen Baumgartner Staff Office of the Honorable Martin Olav Sabo U.S. House of Representatives

Steve Bennion President Snow College

Dr. Robert Bock Graduate Dean University of Wisconsin

Newman Bortnick Research Division Rohm and Haas Co.

Darcy Brent Vice President for Engineering Bayard Corp.

Robert Clodius Director National Association of Universities and Land-Grant Colleges

Rita R. Colwell Vice President for Academic Affairs University of Maryland Dale Compton Vice President for Research Ford Motor Co.

Marshall Cronyn Vice President and Provost Reed College

John C. Crowley Director Federal Relations for Science Research Association of America~ Universities

David Davis-Van Atta Director of Institutional Research Oberlin College

George Dieter Dean of the College of Engineering University of Maryland

Gerald Dinneen Corporate Vice President for Science and Technology Honeywell

Dan Drucker Graduate Research Professor Department of Engineering Science University of Florida at Gainesville

Dale Edmondson Associate Professor of Biochemistry Emory University School of Medicine and Chairman Education Committee American Society of Biological Chemists

Bruce R. Elkstrand Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of the Graduate School University of Colorado Walter Eppenstein Associate Chairman Physics Department Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

William L. Evers Executive Director The Camille and Henry Drefus Foundation, Inc.

Alice Gallin Executive Director Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities

Robert Gordon Vice President for Advanced Studies Notre Dame

Michael Heyman Chancellor University of California at Berkeley

Robert Hilborn Associate Professor Physics Department Oberlin College

Thaddeus C. Ichniowski Chemistry Department Illinois State University

Julia Jacobsen Association for Affiliated College and University Offices

Robert Johnson Dean of Graduate Studies and Research Florida State University

Bob Kersten Dean of Engineering University of Central Florida

John King Professor of Physics Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Fred Landis Professor of Mechanical Engineering University of Wisconsin Donald Langenberg Chancellor University of Illinois

Jules Lapidus President Council of Graduate Schools

Thomas Law Director of Human Resources for R&D Wang Laboratories

Robert Lawson Dean of the Gradlate College University of Vermont

W. Edward Lear Executive Director American Society for Engineering Education

R. Eric Leber Director Public Policy and Communication American Chemical Society

Hugh Loweth Deputy Associate Director for Energy and Science Office of Management and Budget The White House

Bernard J. Luskin Executive Vice President American Association of Community and Junior Colleges

John Marshall 111 Executive Vice President Kresge Foundation

Chuck McAlister Staff Engineer Instrument Society of America

Alan McClelland Assistant to the Director Central Research and Development Department E.I. du Pontde Nemours Co. Violet Meek Director Programs and Special Projects Council of Independent Colleges

Eugen Merzbacher Professor Physics Department University of North Carolina

Horst Meyer Professor Physics Department Oberlin College

William H. Michael, Jr. Executive Director Committee on Education and Utilization of the Engineer National Research Council

Robert N. Mills Manager Professional Recruiting and University Relations General Electric Corp.

Joel Moses Chairman Department of Electrical Engineering Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joseph Norman Associate Dean for Research and Academic Programs Graduate School University of Washington

Alfred Ordman Chairman Biochemistry Program Beloit College

Frank Perkins Dean of the Graduate School Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Paul Peterson Director Physical Sciences Center Honeywell Wimberly Royster Dean of the Graduate School University of Kentucky

Theodore Russo Senior Technical Manager Polaroid

Clyde Sakamoto Director Office of International Services and Dean of Instruction Maui Community College

Alan Schriesheim Director Argonne National Laboratory

Truman Schwartz Professor Chemistry Department Macalester College

Bassam Z. Shakhashiri Assistant Director for Science and Engineering Education National Science Foundation

Joseph Shea Vice President for Engineering Raytheon

AI Sunberg American Association of University Professors

Paul Torgersen Dean College of Engineering Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Myron Tribus Director Center for Advanced Engineering Studies School of Engineering Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John C. Vaughn Senior Federal Relations Officer Association of American Universities Ida Wallace Director Independent Colleges Office

Ed Wasserman Associate Director of Technology Chemical Sciences Central Research and Development E.I. du Pent de Nemours Co.

Robert F. Watson Head Office of College Science Instrumentation National Science Foundation

Karl Willenbrock Professor of Electrical Engineering Southern Methodist University

Jack Wilson Executive Officer American Association of Physics Teachers