## Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee

## **HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

Sidney S. Lee, *Chair* President, Milbank Memorial Fund

H. David Banta Project Director

STĞ Project on Future Health Technology

The Netherlands

Rashi Fein Professor

Department of Social Medicine and Health Policy

Harvard Medical School

Harvey Fineberg

Dean

School of Public Health Harvard University

Patricia King Professor

Georgetown Law Center

Joyce C. Lashof

Dean

School of Public Health

University of California, Berkeley

Alexander Leaf Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital

Frederick Mosteller Professor and Chair

Department of Health Policy and Management

School of Public Health Harvard University

Norton Nelson Professor

Department of Environmental Medicine New York University Medical School

Robert Oseasohn Associate Dean School of Public Health University of Texas Nora Piore

Senior Fellow and Advisor to the President United Hospital Fund of New York

Dorothy Rice Regents Lecturer

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Richard Riegelman Associate Professor

George Washington University

School of Medicine

Walter Robb

Vice President & General Manager Medical Systems Operations

General Electric Milwaukee, WI

Frederick C. Robbins University Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

School of Medicine

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH

Frank E. Samuel, Jr.

President

Health Industry Manufacturers' Association

Rosemary Stevens

**Professor** 

Department of History and Sociology of Science University of Pennsylvania

## **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

OTA would like to thank the members of the advisory panel and the contractors who provided information for this assessment. In addition, OTA acknowledges the following individuals for their assistance in reviewing drafts or supplying information.

F. Alan Andersen

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Benjamin J. Barnhart U.S. Department of Energy

Fred Bergmann

National Institute of General Medical Sciences

David Botstein

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

**Noel Bouck** 

Northwestern University School of Medicine

Michele Calos

Stanford University School of Medicine

L.L. Cavalli-Sforza

Stanford University School of Medicine

George Church

University of California at San Francisco

Mary Ann Danello

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Amiram Daniel

Health Industry Manufacturers Association

Frederick J. DeSerres

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Robert Dixon

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

William Fitzsimmons

National Institute of General Medical Sciences

W. Gary Flamm

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Joseph Fraumeni

National Cancer Institute

Helen Gee

National Institutes of Health

Margaret Gordon

National Institutes of Health

Ronald Hart

National Center for Toxicological Research

John Heddle

Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research (Canada)

Richard Hill

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Abraham Hsie

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Seymour Jablon

National Research Council

Irene Jones

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Moin Khoury

Johns Hopkins University

Norman Mansfield

National Institutes of Health

**Karen Messing** 

University of Quebec at Montreal

**Alexander Morley** 

Flinders Medical Center (Australia)

John J. Mulvihill

**National Cancer Institute** 

DeLill Nasser

**National Science Foundation** 

Neal S. Nelson

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Per Oftedal University of Oslo Doug Ohlendorf

E.I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Dilys Parry

National Cancer Institute

Claude Pickelsimer

Centers for Disease Control

William L. Russell

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

F. Raymond Salemme

E.I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Michael M. Simpson

Congressional Research Service

David A. Smith

U.S. Department of Energy

Gail Stetten
Johns Hopkins Hospital

J. Timothy Stout
Baylor College of Medicine
Gary Strauss
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Larry R. Valcovic U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Peter E. Voytek U.S. Environmental Protection Agency