### Construction and Materials Research and Development for the Nation's Public Works

June 1987

NTIS order #PB94-134723



#### OFFICE OF TECHNOLOGY ASSESSMENT STAFF PAPER

## CONSTRUCTION AND MATERIALS RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT FOR THE NATION'S PUBLIC WORKS

Staff Paper Prepared by the

Energy and Materials and Science, Education, and Transportation Programs Office of Technology Assessment U.S. Computer

June 1987

### **OTA PROJECT STAFF**

# CONSTRUCTION RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT FOR THE NATION'S PUBLIC WORKS

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

Nancy Naismith, Science, Education, and Transportation Program Manager

Edith Page, Project Director

Robert Gold\* Leonard Wojcik

Administrative Staff

Marsha Fenn Chris Clary Michelle Haahr Wendy Weingarten

# MATERIALS RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT FOR THE NATION'S PUBLIC WORKS

Lionel S. Johns, Assistant Director, OTA Energy, Materials, and International Security Division

Peter D. Blair, Energy and Materials Program Manager

Jenifer Robison, Project Director

Karen Larsen Joanne Seder Gregory Eyring

Administrative Staff

Lillian Chapman Linda Long

#### CONTRIBUTORS AND REVIEWERS

During its research for this study, OTA contacted a wide range of knowledgeable individuals in the public and private sectors and in the academic world. All gave generously of their time and expertise. These contributors and reviewers for this paper played key roles in identifying major issues. Moreover they contributed a broad and invaluable range of information, for which OTA is very grateful. However, OTA bears sole responsibility for the contents of this paper.

Walter Anderson, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

George Barney, Portland Cement Association

Ray A. Barnhart, Federal Highway Administration

William Beddow, National Constructors Association

John Bergerson, Water and Wastewater Manufacturers' Association

David P. Billington, Princeton University

Carl A. Brunner, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Robert M. Clark, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

John Convery, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Claudia Copeland, Congressional Research Service

Gene De Michele, Water Pollution Control Federation

Robert C. Doban, Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corporation

John P. Eberhard, National Research Council

David Eckstein, Uni-Bell

Ezra D. Ehrenkrantz, The Ehrenkrantz Group

John W. Fisher, Lehigh University

Arthur J. Fox, Engineering News Record

Geoffrey Frohnsdorff, National Bureau of Standards

Edgar J. Garbarini, Bechtel Group, Inc.

James G. Gross, National Bureau of Standards

Alan Hais, US. Environmental Protection Agency

Edward Harrigan, The Asphalt Institute

Neil Hawkins, University of Washington

Richard Hay, Federal Highway Administration

Paul Howdyshell, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Donald G. Iselin, Consultant

Arnold K. Jones, IBM Corporation

Rolland D. King, Battelle Columbus Laboratories

Robert K. Kreklau, Federal Highway Administration

Frederick Krimgold, Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Damian Kulash, Strategic Highway Research Program

Michael Maccoby, Project on Technology, Work and Character

Darrell Mach, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

James Manwaring, American Water Works Association Research Foundation

Richard May, The Asphalt Institute

William McCleese, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

David McDermott, Utility Contractor's Association

Henry L. Michel, Parsons & Brinckerhoff Inc.

Fred ,Moavenzadeh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Steven Moore, National Asphalt Pavement Association Education Foundation

William W. Moore, Dames & Moore Julian K. Morrison, National Research Council Richard P. Mudge, Apogee Research, Inc. Louis J. Mulkern, RMD Associates J.P. Murtha, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Boyd C. Paulson, Jr., Terman Engineering Center Jessie Pfeiffer, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Alan E. Pisarski, Consultant V.P. Puzinauskas, The Asphalt Institute Robert J. Reilly, National Research Council John C. Richards, M. W. Kellogg Co. Kenneth I. Rubin, Apogee Research, Inc. Jack C. Scalzi, National Science Foundation Louis Shaffer, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Harry Smith, National Research Council Andrew Stevenson, Water Pollution Control Federation Jack Sullivan, American Water Works Association Richard Sullivan, American Public Works Association Robert Thomas, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Gerald Triplett, The Asphalt Institute Richard L. Tucker, The University of Texas Tom Vonier, Consultant Harold Weber, The Sulphur Institute John H. Wiggins, J.H. Wiggins Company John H. Winkler, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill Richard N. Wright, National Bureau of Standards Klaus Zwilsky, National Materials Advisory Board