Appendix C

Acknowledgments

We are grateful to the many individuals and organizations in the United States and abroad who shared their special knowledge, expertise, and information with us in the preparation of this study. We are especially indebted to those who participated in our oil spill countermeasures workshop and to those who critiqued our first draft.

Special thanks go to John S. Lemlin of the International Petroleum Industry Environmental Conservation Organization in London, who organized a comprehensive series of meetings for us with government and industry organizations responsible for combating oil spills in Europe, and to our gracious hosts in the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, and Norway.

Participants, OTA Workshop on Oil Spill Countermeasures Technology, August 15, 1989

David Evans
National Institute of Standards and
Technology

Mervin Fingas Environment Canada

Jack R. Gould

American Petroleum Institute Gerald Greener U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Stuart A. Horn Mobil Oil Corp.

Don Kash

University of Oklahoma "

Virgil Keith

Engineering Computer Optecnomics, Inc.

James T. Leigh

Delaware Bay & River Cooperative

Jack Mortenson

Clean Bay, Concord, California

Jim O'Brien OOPS, Inc.

M. Ruud Ouwerkerk

IHC Dredge Technology Corp.

John Teal

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Peter A. Tebeau

U.S. Coast Guard Research and Development Center

Ed Tennyson

Minerals Management Service

William Walker

Naval Sea Systems Command

Richard Willis

Engineering Computer Optecnomics, Inc.

Donald B. Wood

Exxon Production Research Co.

Other Contributors

Winy Anderson

State Pollution Control Authority (Norway)

James Caldwell

RBI, Inc.

Wayne Becker

U.S. Coast Guard

Ken Blower

British Petroleum International, Ltd.

(London, U. K.)

Simon Bommelje

Texaco Petroleum (Netherlands)

Charles Bookman

National Research Council

Larry Coker

Exxon Chemical Co.

John D. Costello

PIRO Implementation, Inc.

David Creole

U.S. Coast Guard

Brian Dicks

ITOPF, Ltd. (London, U. K.)

Dennis Dooley

Alaska Oil Spill Commission

Mike Emge U.S. Coast Guard Tony Greenwood

Esso U.K. (London, U. K.)

John Gregory

Minerals Management Service

Amy R. Hammer Exxon Corp. Biff Holt

U.S. Coast Guard

Steve Hobkinson

Vikoma International, Ltd. (Cowes, U. K.)

Kurt Jakobson

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Donald S. Jensen

U.S. Coast Guard Research and Development

Center

Jan Lane U.S. Department of Energy

Capt. R.M. Larrabee U.S. Coast Guard

Martin Lee

Congressional Research Service

John S. Lemlin

International Petroleum Industry

Environmental Conservation Association

(London, U. K.) Doug Lentsch U.S. Coast Guard

D.W. Lerch

MARCO Pollution Control

M.D. Long

Oil Spill Service Centre (Southampton, U. K.)

Ottar Longva

State Pollution Control Authority (Norway)

Ron Maccaroni

U.S. General Accounting Office

Hamish McLeod

Department of Transport (London, U. K.)

Jim Makris

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Marthe Melguen CEDRE (France)

T.H. Moller

ITOPF, Ltd. (London, U. K.)

Alan Molyneux Texaco (Belgium)

Hugh Parker

ITOPF, Ltd. (London, U. K.)

Walter Parker

Alaska Oil Spill Commission

Georges Peigne CEDRE (France) Tormod Petterson Esso Norge as. (Norway)

Brent Pyburn

BP International Ltd. (Southampton, U. K.)

Keith C. Reynolds

Vikoma International Ltd. (Cowes, U. K.)

Nabil Saad

Exxon Chemical Co. Daniel F. Sheehan U.S. Coast Guard

Lisa Speer

Natural Resources Defense Council

Robert Steele

Exxon Production Research Co.

Widar Skogly

Norsk Oljevernforening For Operatorselskap (Norway)

Joseph Stahovec

Naval Sea Systems Command

Jan Thorman

Minerals Management Service

Bernard Tramier Elf Aquitaine (France)

Marjorie Walsh Exxon Chemical Co.

Robert Williams Novatec, Inc.

Ian C. White

ITOPF, Ltd. (London, U. K.)