Radiofrequency Use and Management: Impacts From the World Administrative Radio Conference of 1979

January 1982

NTIS order #PB82-177536

# Radiofrequency Use and Management

Impacts from the World Administrative Radio Conference of 1979



entité of the participation in of Technology Accountant Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 82-600502

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. 20402

## Foreword

This study responds to a request from the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation to evaluate the impacts on the United States of key decisions taken at the general World Administrative Radio Conference (WARC-79) and to consider options for preparation and participation in future international telecommunication conferences. It reflects congressional concern for the adequacy of existing machinery and procedures for U.S. policymaking and preparation for such conferences.

WARC-79 and related international conferences and meetings demonstrate that contention for access to the radio spectrum and its important collateral element, the geostationary orbit for communication satellites, presents new and urgent challenges to vital U.S. national interests. The growing differences among nations over the use of the radio spectrum and related satellite orbit capacity are reflected in the Final Acts of WARC-79 which will be submitted to the U.S. Senate in January 1982, for advice and consent to ratification.

Given the complexities of spectrum management in a changing world environment and the increased importance of telecommunications to both developed and developing nations, it is unlikely that traditional U.S. approaches to these issues will be sufficient to protect vital U.S. interests in the future. Problems require strategies not yet developed or tested.

OTA acknowledges with thanks and appreciation the advice and counsel of the panel members, contractors, other agencies of Government, and individual participants who helped bring the study to completion.

John H. Libbou

**JOHN H. GIBBONS** Director

## **Radiofrequency Use and Management: Impacts From the World Administrative Radio Conference of 1979 Advisory Panel**

Thomas E. Nelson, *Chairman* Former Director, Office of International Telecommunications Policy, Department of State

Ambassador Jacob Beam Head of the U.S. Delegation to the 1973 Plenipotentiary Conference of the International Telecommunication Union

Nolan Bowie Former Executive Director Citizens' Communications Center

Paul Dembling Former General Counsel National Aeronautics and Space Administration

John M. Eger Former Acting Director Office of Telecommunication Policy

James C. Fletcher Former Administrator National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Walter R. Hinchman Former Chief Common Carrier Bureau Federal Communications Commission Harvey J. Levin Professor, Department of Economics Hofstra University

Edgar T. Martin Former Engineering Manager Broadcasting Service U.S. Information Agency

Ithiel De Sola Pool Professor, Department of Political Science Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Raymond E. Spence Former Chief Engineer Federal Communications Commission

M. Jon Vondracek Director of Communications Center for Strategic and International Studies Georgetown University

Grover M. Yowell Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired) Former Manager Navy Space Project of Naval Electronic Systems Command

NOTE:: The Advisory Panel provided advice and comment throughout the assessment, but the members do not necessarily approve, disapprove, or endorse the report for which OTA assumes full responsibility.

## **Radiofrequency Use and Management: Impacts From the World Administrative Ratio Conference of 1979 Project Staff**

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

Stephen E. Doyle\* and Sam Hale,\*\* *Program Manager Communication and Information Technologies Program* 

Raymond B. Crowell, Project Director

Administrative Staff

Jeanette Contee Liz Emanuel Shirley Gayheart

Contractors

J. D. Barnla Philip S. Cook Future Systems Inc. William Hatfield Kappa Systems Inc. John J. Kelleher Susan Stocker Telecommunications Systems

## **OTA Publishing Staff**

John C. Holmes, <i>Publishing Officer</i>			
John Bergling	Kathie S. Boss	Debra M. Datcher	Joe Henson

\*Program Manager until March 1981. \*\* program Manager after March 1981.

## Acknowledgments

Many individuals have assisted in various aspects of this study, each making a valuable contribution to the information and analyses assembled and presented here. Participation does not necessarily reflect agreement with the entire report or any particular aspect of the report. Contributors include:

**Contractor Support** 

Linda Bower J. Russell Burke Ronald S. Eward Richard Gould George Hagn Jack W. Herbstreit Heather E. Hudson Michael Jeruchim Nicholas Marzella Harley Radin Leonard R. Raish John Rheinhardt Reinhard Stamminger John A. Stein Michael Stoil

#### Reviewers

Leo Buss George Codding William J. Cook Robert L. Cutts Arlan K, van Doom Lou Feldner Stephen J. Lukasik Carl Matthews Richard Parlow Samuel E. Probst A. R. Rasmussen Anthony M. Rutkowski Arthur I.. Freeman Jonathan Gunter Wendell Harris Edward R. Jacobs Donald Jansky David Leive Robert Tomkins H. E. Weppler

Richard E. Shrum David P. M. Struba William R. Torak Charles K. Watt

#### Agencies Providing Information and Reviews

Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress Department of Defense Department of State Federal Communications Commission National Aeronautics and Space Administration National Telecommunications and Information Administration U.S. General Accounting Office

#### Participants in the OTA Survey

Perry G. Ackerman William Adams Allen Anderson Dexter Anderson Lucian L. Arnone Earl S. Barbely Jerome D. Barnla Richard Barth George Bartlett Jacob Bean Martin W. Bercovici John Paul Berry Robert S. Black Herbert T. Blaker William Berman Nolan Bowie Lewis Bradley Anne Branscomb Dan Brenner Russell Burke Leo Buss Paul E. Carroll Anna L. Case William Cooke Anthony M. Corrado Cullen M. Crain Robert L. Cutts Satyendranath Das Wilfred Dean Thijs DeHaas Willis D. DeHart Ithiel de Sola Pool Wilson Dizard Charles Dorian

A. James Ebel John M. Eger Harry A. Feigleson Charles D. Ferris Milford R. Fink Arthur L. Freeman L. S. Gallemore Henry Geller John Gilsenan E. Merle Glunt Abilio Gomez Robert E. Greenquisit Wendell Harris Mervin L. Harrison William Hatfield Jack W. Herbstreit Roger Herbstritt Walter R. Hinchman Earl J. Holliman David Honig Gordon Huffcutt Marion Hayes Hull Charles L. Hutchinson Karyl A. Irion Eugene Jackson Edward Jacobs George Jacobs Donald Jansky Michael C. Jeruchim Raymond Johnson Harold Kassens Wayne Kay John J. Kelleher John W. Kiebler

Harold Kimball Emmett Jay Kitchen Alex C. Latker Robert E. Lee Stanley Leinwoll Maury Lisann Ray Livesay Lloyd G. Ludwig Stephen J. Lukasik William A. Luther James B. McElroy James C. McKinney Neal McNaughton George Mansur Richard B. Marsten Edgar T. Martin Sidney Metzger John E. Miller Robert P. Moore Sharon Nelson Thomas E. Nelson John O'Boyle General James D. O'Connell James E. ogle Lawrence Palmer Vernon Pankonin Edwin Parker Richard Parlow Paul Phillips Neal Pike James B. Potts Wilbur Pritchard Samuel E. Probst Joseph P. Rawley

Alvin Reiner Glen Robinson John T. Robinson Anthony Rutkowski Peter Sawitz Kalmann Schaefer John Serafin Richard Shrum Hillyer Smith Neil M. Smith Raymond E. Spence Ronald F. Stowe David P. M. Struba William R. Torak Robert Tompkins Phillip G. Tremper Calvin G. Tuggle Thomas Tycz Arlan K. van Doom R. J. Van Winegarten F. W. Voege Constantine Warvariv James C. Warwick Walter E. Weaver Hans Weiss H. Edward Weppler Howard A. White Clay T. Whitehead Harold Wigren Francis K. Williams Elizabeth L. Young Admiral Grover M. Yowell