workshop Participants*

Panel

Barbara Mishkin, M. A., J. D., *Panel Chairman* Hogan & Hartson

W. Kent Anger, Ph. D.

Chief, Neurobehavioral Research Section Applied Psychology and Ergonomics Branch National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Raymond Bartus, Ph. D. American Cyanamid Co. Medical Research Division Lederle Laboratories

The Honorable David L. Bazelon Senior Circuit Judge U.S. Court of Appeals District of Columbia Circuit

Floyd E. Bloom, M. D.

Director, Davis Center of Behavioral Neurobiology Salk Institute

Greg R. Christoph, Ph. D.

Central Research and Development Department E. I. du Pent de Nemours & Co., Inc.

David Cohen, Ph. D.

Department of Neurobiology and Behavior State University of New York, Stony Brook

Joe Dan Coulter, Ph. D. University of Texas Medical Branch Marine Biomedical Institute

Miriam Davis, Ph. D. Science Policy Research Division Congressional Research Service Library of Congress

John Dowling, Ph. D. Department of Biology Harvard University

John Hildebrand, Ph. D. Department of Biological Sciences Columbia University

Jack Houck, Ph. D. President, Endorphin, Inc.

Zaven Khachaturian, Ph. D. National Institute on Aging National Institutes of Health Dennis Landis, M. D. Department of Neurology Massachusetts General Hospital

Candace Pert, Ph. D. Adult Psychiatry Branch National Institute of Mental Health

Dominick P. Purpura, M. D. Dean, Stanford University School of Medicine

Mick Riddiough, Ph. D. Syntex Corp.

Joshua Sanes, Ph. D. Department of Physiology and Biophysics Washington University Medical Center

Other participants

Constance Atwell, Ph. D. Chief, Amblyopia, Strabismus, and Visual Processing Branch National Eye Institute

Nancy Beang Society for Neuroscience

Katherine Bick, Ph. D.
Deputy Director
National Institute of Neurological and
Communicative Disorders and Stroke

Harold E. Booker, M. D. Director, Neurological Services Veterans Administration Central Office

H. Westley Clark, M. D., J. D., M. P. H. Minority Counsel Senate Committee on Labor and Human Resources

Sheila P. Duffy House Select Committee on Aging

June Ewing National Academy of Sciences

Carol Grundfest, M. A.
Senior Research Associate
Science and Technology Division
Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association

Genevieve Haddad, Ph. D. Program Manager Air Force Office of Scientific Research/NL

[•] Affiliations at the time of July 27, 1983, workshop

Cynthia Kapphahn Environmental Defense Fund

Jorge Lambrinos Staff Director House Select Committee on Aging

Jack Lubowsky, Ph. D. Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow Sen. John Glenn

James McCullough, Ph. D. Chief, Science Policy Research Division Congressional Research Service Library of Congress

Robert Newburgh, Ph. D. Leader, Biological and Biomedical Sciences Office of Naval Research

Norine E. Noonan, Ph. D. Office of Management and Budget

Harold Pincus, M. D. Special Assistant to the Director National Institute of Mental Health

Zeda Rosenberg, Ph. D. Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow Rep. David R. Obey

Michael Simpson Science Policy Research Division Congressional Research Service Library of Congress

Philip G. Sokolove, Ph. D. Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow Rep. Albert Gore, Jr.

Fred Solomon, M. D. Institute of Medicine Division of Mental Health and Behavioral Medicine Emmanuel M. Stadlan, M. D.
Acting Director, Demyelinating, Atrophic, and
Dementing Disorders Program
National Institute of Neurological and
Communicative Disorders and Stroke

Harlee S. Strauss, Ph. D. American Chemical Society

Eugene Streicher, Ph. D.
Director, Fundamental Neuroscience Program
National Institute of Neurological and
Communicative Disorders and Stroke

Lawrence Tremonti, M. D. Legislative Assistant Robert Wood Johnson Fellow Sen. William Bradley

Janett Trubach, Ph. D. National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke

Randall Wedin, Ph. D. Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow Rep. George E. Brown, Jr.

Nancy Wexler, Ph. D. Neurology Disorders Program National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke

William A. Yost, Ph. D. Program Director, Sensory Physiology and Perception National Science Foundation

Bambi Batts Young, Ph. D. Director, Environment and Behavior Project Center for Science in the Public Interest