Appendixes

Appendix A.—Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

A number of people deserve thanks and recognition for their contributions to this report. We thank the officers and employees of the wheelchair manufacturing and distributing firms for participating in our survey. As we promised them confidentiality, we cannot thank them by name. We appreciate the suggestions and assistance of Jane Sisk, Cynthia King, Jack Langenbrunner, and Katherine Locke of the Office of Technology Assessment (OTA). Mr. A. Malachi Mixon, III, President of Invacare Corp., and his associates, kindly provided data for the two case studies. We thank the following wheelchair users, researchers, government officials, and insurers who generously provided their time and expertise to us directly or as reviewers for OTA.

Jay AuWerter Invacare Corp. Elyria, OH Peter W. Axelson Veterans Administration Palo Alto, CA Henry Bergman Public Citizen Health Research Group Washington DC Robert J. Britain Food and Drug Administration Department of Health and Human Services Washington, DC Guv E. Clark Barrier-Free Design Consultants, Inc. Sub Lakes, AZ Larry Comella Food and Drug Administration Department of Health and Human Services Silver Spring, MD Clyde C. Cook Veterans Administration Washington, DC J. Richard Crout Boehringer-Mannheim Corp. Rockville. MD Donald L. Custis Veterans Administration Washington, DC Patricia Dumphy Massachusetts Department of **Public Welfare** Boston, MA Gil Haury Invacare Corp. Elyria, OH

Douglas Hobson Rehabilitation Engineering Program University of Tennessee Memphis, TN **Ralf Hotchkiss** Oakland. CA David L. Jaffe Veterans Administration Palo Alto, CA Mane Kasprzyk Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Massachusetts Boston, MA Carolyn Keeley Massachusetts Department of Public Welfare Boston, MA Ron Lipskin Veterans Administration New York, NY Jan Little Medical Equipment Distributors, Inc. Maywood, IL Donald Marlowe Center for Medical Devices Rockville. MD Lee Matthews Food and Drug Administration Department of Health and Human Services Silver Spring, MD Samuel R. McFarland Southwest Research Institute San Antonio, TX Colin A. McLaurin Rehabilitation Engineering Center University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA

Donald Milani Abbey Medical Brighton, MA A. Malachi Mixon III Invacare Corp. Elyria, OH Harold Pellerite Food and Drug Administration Department of Health and Human Services Silver Spring, MD Jacquelin Perry Rancho Los Amigos Hospital Downey, CA Hymie Pogir Invacare Corp. Elyria, OH Anton Reichenberger Veterans Administration New York, NY Nigel Shapcott **Rehabilitation Engineering Center** University of Tennessee Memphis, TN David Wayne Smith University of Arizona Tucson, AZ Robert E. Smith Veterans Administration Palo Alto, CA

Anne R. Somers Department of Environment and Community and Family Medicine, Rutgers University New Brunswick, NJ Anthony Stares Ortho-Tech International, Inc. New York, NY Gordon Stout Berkeley, CA Robert A. Streimer Health Care Financing Administration Department of Health and **Ĥuman Services** Baltimore, MD Joseph Traub National Institute of Handicapped Research Department of Education Washington, DC Raymond P. Whitten National Aeronautics and Space Administration Washington, DC Irving Kenneth Zola Brandeis University Waltham, MA

App. A Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee • 59

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sidney S. Lee, Committee *Chair* President, Milbank Memorial Fund New York, NY

Stuart H. Altman* Dean Florence Heller School Brandeis University Waltham, MA H. David Banta **Deputy Director** Pan American Health Organization Washington, DC Carroll L. Estes** Chair Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences School of Nursing University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA Rashi Fein Professor Department of Social Medicine and Health Policy Harvard Medical School Boston, MA Harvey V. Fineberg Dean School of Public Health Harvard University Boston, MA Melvin A. Glasser *** Director Health Security Action Council Committee for National Health Insurance Washington, DC Patricia King Professor Georgetown Law Center Washington, DC Joyce C. Lashof Dean School of Public Health University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA

*Until April 1983 **Until March 1984 ***Until October 1983 ****Until August 1983 Alexander Leaf Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, MA Margaret Mahoney** * * President The Commonwealth Fund New York, NY Frederick Mosteller Professor and Chair Department of Health Policy and Management School of Public Health Harvard University Boston, MA Norton Nelson Professor Department of Environmental Medicine New York University Medical School New York, NY Robert Oseasohn Associate Dean University of Texas, San Antonio San Antonio, TX Nora Piore Senior Advisor The Commonwealth Fund New York, NY Mitchell Rabkin* President Beth Israel Hospital Boston, MA

Dorothy P. Rice Regents Lecturer Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences School of Nursing University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA Richard K. Riegelman Associate Professor George Washington University School of Medicine Washington, DC Walter L. Robb Vice President and General Manager Medical Systems Operations General Electric Co.

Milwaukee, WI

Frederick C. Robbins President Institute of Medicine Washington, DC Rosemary Stevens Professor Department of History and Sociology of Science University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA