Skip over navigation

Astronomy Colloquia 2013

Colloquia take place in Peyton Hall Auditorium at 4:30 p.m. each Tuesday of the Spring semester.

 

 

February 5, 2013

Speaker: Vasiliki Pavlidou
Title: Deciphering the gamma-ray sky: intergalactic magnetic fields, relativistic jets, and the search for dark matter in the Fermi era
Email: pavlidou@physics.uoc.gr
Host: Matt Kunz
Arrival: Feb 4  
Departure: Feb 7

 

February 12, 2013

Speaker: Amitava Bhattacharjee
Title: Fast Magnetic Reconnection: Bridging Laboratory and Space Plasma Physics
Email: amitava@pppl.gov
Host: Damiano Caprioli
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

February 19, 2013

Speaker: Nancy Kiang
Title: Astronomical searches for alien life: the far-red limit of oxygenic photosynthesis and adaptation to different parent stars
Email: Nancy.Y.Kiang@nasa.gov
Host: Daan Meerburg
Arrival:  Tue Feb 19
Departure:  Tue Feb 19

 

February 26, 2013

Speaker: David Hogg
Title: An Exoplanet Theory Of Everything
Email: david.hogg@nyu.edu
Host: Emily Rauscher (Jeremiah Murphy)
Arrival: Feb 26
Departure: Feb 26 

 

March 5, 2013

Speaker: Adam Leroy
Title: Star Formation and the Interstellar Medium in Nearby Galaxies 
Email: aleroy@nrao.edu
Host: Stephanie Tonnensen 
Arrival: March 3
Departure: March 6 

 

March 12, 2013

Speaker: Eilat Glikman
Title: Dust Reddened Quasars: A Transitional Phase in Quasar/Galaxy Co-Evolution
Email: eilat.glikman@yale.edu
Host: Stephanie Tonnensen (Renee)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

March 19, 2013

Speaker: Debra Fischer
Title: The Road to 100 Earths
Email:  
Host: Emily Rauscher (Renee Hlozek)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

March 26, 2013

Speaker: Nathan Smith
Title: Blast waves in circumstellar gas, and their contribution to the transient zoo
Email:  
Host: Jose Prieto
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 2, 2013

Speaker: Rick Perley
Title: The Jansky Very Large Array -- New Science from a New Array  
Email: rperley@aoc.nrao.edu
Host: Jeremiah Murphy (Matt Kunz)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 9, 2013

Speaker: Steve Cowley
Title: Making Large Scale Magnetic Fields 
Email:  
Host: Matt Kunz (Damiano Caprioli)
Arrival: April 8
Departure: April 12 

 

April 16, 2013

Speaker: Meredith Hughes
Title: Planet Formation through Radio Eyes
Email:  
Host: Sasha Tchekhovskoy (Emily Rauscher)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 23, 2013

Speaker: Saurabh Jha
Title: Cosmology with Supernovae: Systematic Floors and New Windows 
Email: saurabh@physics.rutgers.edu
Host: Jose Prieto (Renee Hlozek)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 30, 2013

Speaker: Roger Blandford
Title:

Is there Smoke without Fire?: Jets, Holes and Disks

Email: rdb3@stanford.edu
Host: Sasha Tchekhovskoy (Matt Kunz)
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

May 7, 2013

Speaker: Jean-Loup Puget
Title:  Cosmological results from the Planck satellite
Email:  
Host: Renee Hlozek (Daan)
Arrival:  
Departure: