Skip over navigation

Spring Colloquium

Colloquium talks take place at the Peyton Hall Auditorium - 4:30 p.m. every Tuesday of the Spring semester.

 

 

February 4, 2014

Speaker: Chris Reynolds (University of Maryland)
Title: Up Close and Personal with Nearby Supermassive Black Holes
Email: chris@astro.umd.edu
Host: Aaron (Damiano, Matt)
Arrival: Feb. 4th AM
Departure: Feb. 4th PM

 

February 11, 2014

Speaker: Maria Zuber (MIT)
Title: The Interior of the Moon from the Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) Mission
Email:  zuber@MIT.EDU
Host:  Renee Hlozek
Arrival:  Feb 10
Departure:  Feb 12

 

February 18, 2014

Speaker: Gary Zank (UA Huntsville, CSPAR)
Title: Faltering Steps into the Galaxy
Email: garyp.zank@gmail.com
Host: Damiano Caprioli
Arrival: Tue Feb 18
Departure: Tue Feb 19

 

February 25, 2014

Speaker: Jason Kalirai (STScI)
Title: The Stellar Graveyard of the Milky Way
Email: jkalirai@stsci.edu
Host: Stephanie Tonnesen
Arrival: Feb 24
Departure: Feb 25

 

March 4, 2014

Speaker: Mariangela Lisanti
Title: Bringing Dark Matter into Focus
Email: mlisanti@princeton.edu
Host: Benoit Cerutti
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

March 11, 2014

Speaker: Rachel Bean
Title: Insights into early and late cosmic acceleration with upcoming large scale structure surveys
Email: rbean@astro.cornell.edu
Host: Daan Meerburg
Arrival:  Mar 10
Departure:  Mar 12

 

March 18, 2014

Speaker: Alexie Leauthaud (Kavli IPMU, Univ. of Tokyo)
Title: Galaxies in the Dark
Email: alexie.leauthaud@me.com
Host: Hironao Miyatake
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

March 25, 2014

Speaker: Paul Ricker (UIUC)
Title: There is Life after Stellar Middle Age
Email: pmricker@illinois.edu
Host:  Aaron Skinner
Arrival:  Mar 24
Departure:  Mar 26

 

April 1, 2014

Speaker: Jeff Filippini
Title:

"Listening for the Echoes of Inflation with BICEP2 and Beyond"

Email:  
Host: Ondrej Pejcha
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 8, 2014

Speaker: Nahum Arav (Virginia Tech)
Title: Kinetic Luminosity of Quasar Outflows and its Implications to AGN Feedback
Email:  arav@vt.edu
Host: Emily Rauscher
Arrival: April 7 (night)
Departure: April 8

 

April 15, 2014

Speaker: Dylan Brennan
Title: TBA
Email:  dylanb@Princeton.EDU
Host: Benoît Cerutti
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 22, 2014

Speaker:  
Title:  TBA
Email:  
Host: Matt
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

April 29, 2014

Speaker: Fionna Harrison
Title:  TBA
Email:  
Host:  
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

May 6, 2014

Speaker: Josh Winn (MIT)
Title: The shortest-period planets
Email: jwinn@mit.edu
Host: Emily Rauscher
Arrival:  
Departure:  

 

May 13, 2014

Speaker: Andrew Baker
Title:  TBA
Email:  
Host: Renee Hlozek
Arrival:  
Departure: