Takács String Quartet (Virtual Watch Party)


A Princeton University Concerts series Virtual Watch Party, featuring a live Q&A with the quartet members following the streamed performance.


MOZART Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, K. 421 (1st movement)
SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Prelude and Humoresque from 5 Fantasiestüke for String Quartet, Op. 5 (1st & 3rd movements)
BARTÓK String Quartet No. 3 (intro & 4th movement)
DEBUSSY String Quartet in G Minor (3rd & 4th movements)


In accordance with Princeton University's guidelines, we are converting this season’s Takács Quartet concert to a free digital presentation. The streamed concert will premiere on Thursday, October 15 at 8:00 pm and will remain available on demand through 11:59PM on Sunday, October 18. No registration required, but please RSVP for access to special content leading up to the stream!


That the Takács String Quartet opens our virtual 2020-2021 season with their 21st appearance on our series is certainly a testament to the fact that not even a global pandemic can get in the way of our love for this formidable group. Even after 21 appearances, the novelty never ceases. With a new violist in tow—Emmy Award winner, two-time Grammy nominee, and Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient Richard O’Neill—the quartet will launch our inaugural Watch Party with a program of works by Mozart, Bartók, Debussy, and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. Professor Emeritus Scott Burnham will provide a brief introduction to the evening’s program, including the fascinating history of Coleridge-Taylor’s background as a 20th-century English composer and activist of European and African descent.


October 15, 2020


8:00 p.m.


Online via live stream