News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

Presidential search update

The remaining members of the committee that will conduct the search for President Harold Shapiro's successor have been selected. Faculty and staff representatives were chosen by their respective constituencies in elections held this month.

The staff member elected is Kathleen Deignan, dean of undergraduate students. The faculty members elected include one from each of the four academic divisions and one non-tenured member. They are: humanities -- Mark Johnston, professor of philosophy; social sciences -- Alan Krueger, the Lynn Bendheim Thoman, Class of 1976, and Robert Bendheim, Class of 1937, Professor in Economics and Public Affairs; natural sciences -- Shirley Tilghman, the Howard A. Prior Professor in the Life Sciences and professor of molecular biology; engineering -- James Sturm, professor of electrical engineering; and non-tenured -- Jeffrey Carbeck, assistant professor of chemical engineering.

The faculty and staff members join these previously announced members of the committee: trustees -- Robert Rawson Jr., who is the committee chair, Brent Henry, Dennis Keller, Spencer Merriweather III, Heidi Miller, Robert Murley, Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, John Wynne and Paul Wythes; undergraduate students -- P.J. Kim and Lisa Lazarus; and graduate student -- Lauren Hale. Thomas Wright, secretary of the University, is serving as secretary of the search committee.

The committee is charged with making a recommendation to the full Board of Trustees on a successor to Shapiro, who Sept. 22 announced his decision to complete his presidency and return to the faculty when this academic year ends.

Contact: Justin Harmon (609) 258-3601

Back To Top