News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

Four named Goldwater Scholars

Four Princeton juniors have been named Goldwater Scholars by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.

Daniel Babich of the physics department, Robert Lipshitz and Lillian Pierce of the mathematics department, and Scott Vafai of the molecular biology department were selected on the basis of academic merit from 1,164 mathematics, science and engineering students from universities across the country. The one- and two-year scholarships provide a maximum of $7,500 annually to cover tuition, fees, books and room and board. A total of 302 scholarships were awarded this year.

The scholarship program, part of the federally endowed Goldwater Foundation, was established in honor of Sen. Barry Goldwater and is designed to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top