News at Princeton

Friday, April 28, 2017

Web Stories

Three elected to National Academy of Sciences

Three Princeton faculty members were elected to the National Academy of Sciences at the academy's annual meeting May 1.

They are: Michael Bender, professor of geosciences; Robert Cava, associate director of the Princeton Materials Institute and professor of chemistry; and Daniel Kahneman, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School.

They were among 72 new members and 15 foreign associates elected this year, bringing the total number of National Academy members to 1,874 and the number of Princeton affiliated members to 58.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation, signed by Abraham Lincoln, that calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top