News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

Stein and Lieb honored by mathematical society

Two Princeton faculty members have been honored by the American Mathematical Society.

Elias Stein , the Albert Baldwin Dod Professor of Mathematics, has received the 2002 Leroy Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement. It recognizes Stein's "fundamental contributions to various aspects of analysis, including the theory of singular integrals, commutative and noncommutative harmonic analysis and analysis of functions of several complex variables."

According to the society, Stein has contributed both through his own research and through working with and influencing many students, "who have gone on to make profound contributions of their own."

Elliott Lieb , the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics, has been awarded the society's 2002 Levi Conant Prize along with Jakob Yngvason of the University of Vienna. The prize is awarded for "an outstanding expository paper in the Notices of the AMS or the Bulletin of the AMS in the last five years." The two were honored for their co-written paper, "A Guide to Entropy and the Second Law of Thermodynamics," which appeared in the Notices of the AMS in 1998.

The awards were presented at the annual Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego on Jan. 7.

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top