News at Princeton

Monday, April 24, 2017

Web Stories

Four elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected four Princeton faculty members as new fellows in 2002.

They are: Douglas Arnold, the William Church Osborn Professor of Public Affairs; Anthony Grafton, the Henry Putnam University Professor of History; Alan Krueger, the Lynn Bendheim Thoman, Class of 1976, and Robert Bendheim, Class of 1937, Professor in Economics and Public Affairs; and Thomas Shenk, the James Elkins Jr. Professor in the Life Sciences and chair of the Department of Molecular Biology.

The academy is one of the nations most distinguished learned societies and research institutions. Election to it is the result of "a highly competitive process that recognizes those who have made pre-eminent contributions to all scholarly fields and professions," according to the organization. The Princeton faculty members are among 177 fellows and 30 foreign honorary members elected this year.

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601

Back To Top