News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

Five named American Academy of Arts and Sciences fellows

Five Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 216 scholars, scientists, artists, business leaders, educators and public officials elected in recognition of contributions to their respective fields.

The Princeton faculty members are: Paul Chaikin , the Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics; George Philander , professor of geosciences; Stephen Pacala , the Frederick Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Michael Wood, the Charles Barnwell Straut Class of 1923 Professor of English and department chair; and Nicholas Katz , professor of mathematics and department chair.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which was chartered in Boston in 1780, will honor its newest members at the annual induction ceremony at its Cambridge, Mass., headquarters in October.

Contact: Lauren Robinson-Brown (609) 258-3601

Back To Top