News at Princeton

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Web Stories

American Physical Society honors Princeton scientists

Three scientists from the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory and a faculty member in chemistry have been honored by the American Physical Society.

Chio Cheng and King-Lap Wong were among five recipients of the society's 2004 Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research. In addition, PPPL researcher Hantao Ji and professor of chemistry Salvatore Torquato were named APS Fellows.

Cheng and Wong were honored for their work related to the confinement of energetic alpha particles, which is important to fusion energy research. Cheng joined the PPPL research staff in 1975 and is head of the Energetic Particle Physics Group and Space Plasma Physics Division. Wong, a researcher at the PPPL since 1976, currently is on long-term assignment at General Atomics in San Diego.

Two of the other award winners, professors William Walter Heidbrink and Liu Chen of the University of California-Irvine, have Princeton ties. Heidbrink earned his Ph.D. from Princeton in 1984, and Chen is a former PPPL staff member.

Ji was recognited for his contributions to the field of plasma physics. He came to the PPPL in 1995 and has been conducting experiments to study the physics of magnetic reconnection, magnetorotational instability and other basic physical processes.

Torquato was cited for his contributions to the understanding of the structure and macroscopic properties of disordered materials. A Princeton faculty member since 1992, he holds a joint appointment in the Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials.

Contact: Eric Quinones (609) 258-3601

Back To Top