News at Princeton

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Web Stories

Sinfonia to present world premiere of composition

Thursday, May 7, 2009, 8 p.m. · Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall

The Princeton University Sinfonia will conclude its season with the world premiere of a jazz-influenced work by Princeton-area composer Laurie Altman as well as several orchestra favorites at 8 p.m. Thursday, May 7, in Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall.

The orchestra, conducted by Ruth Ochs, will be joined by Fuma Sacra, a professional vocal ensemble directed by Andrew Megill, and the Princeton University Concert Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Anthony D.J. Branker. Guitarist Nate Radley will perform with the combined forces.

Titled "In Another Time," Altman's composition incorporates his own poetry with a poem by David Herrstrom and Pablo Neruda's famous "Ode to Things." Conceived around the flow of the poetry, the piece moves from a somber and contemplative beginning to an uplifting conclusion. Altman says in a program note that the world's troubled outlook last fall influenced the tenor of the work.

Cast much like a suite, the six brief movements use the vocal, jazz and symphonic forces as a sonic mosaic with lively rhythmic twists and jazz-inspired harmonies. The commission of "In Another Time" was supported by the University's Lewis Center for the Arts, jazz program and music department.

The program will also feature Ravel's "Pavane pour une infante défunte," Robert Schumann's Spring Symphony and the opening of Max Bruch's Violin Concerto No. 1 with soloist Kathy Li, a Princeton freshman who won the 2009 Sinfonia Concerto Competition.

Ruth Ochs and Anna Wittstruck lead Sinfonia, a student orchestra sponsored by the Department of Music. Tickets for the concert are $5 and are available online through University Ticketing or by calling (609) 258-9220.

Back To Top