Appendix B.—Acknowledgments and Health Program Advisory Committee

The development of this report has benefited from the advice and review of a number of people in addition to the Advisory Panel and the Health Program Advisory Committee. OTA staff would like to express its appreciation to the following people for their valuable guidance.

Catherine Abercrombie
Dornier Medical Systems, Inc.

Ralph J. Alfidi

Case Western Reserve University

Laura Allendorf

American Society of Internal Medicine

Dennis P. Andrulis

National Association of Public Hospitals

Richard Averill

Health Systems International

Lawrence Bachorik

Fairfax Hospital Association

Karl Bays

American Hospital Supply Corp.

Dennis Beatrice Brandeis University

Jill Bernstein

General Accounting Office

Meryl Bloomrosen

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Saul Boyarski

Washington University

William Broglie

Health Care Financing Administration

Robert Brook The Rand Corp. Joan Buchanan The Rand Corp. Paul Campbell

Health Industry Manufacturers' Association

Rosanna Coffey

National Center for Health Services Research & Health Care Technology Assessment

Catherine Cohen

American Society of Clinical Pathologists

Dennis Cotter

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Carol Cronin Washington, DC Carolyne Davis

Health Care Financing Administration

Allen Dobson

Health Care Financing Administration

George Drach University of Arizona

Paul Eggers

Health Care Financing Administration

Suanne Estabrook Intermedics. Infusaid Inc.

Robert Flinn Peoria, IL Deborah Freund

University of North Carolina

Jan Garfinkle

Advanced Cardiovascular Systems

Benjamin Gerson

New England Deaconess Hospital

Paul Gertman

Health Data Institute and Boston University

Paul Ginsburg The Rand Corp. Phyllis Giovannetti University of Alberta Peter Goldschmidt

U.S. Veterans Administration

Washington, DC Joseph Gonnella

Jefferson Medical College

Mark Goodhart

American Hospital Association

Thomas Granneman

Mathematical Policy Research

John Griffith

University of Michigan

Paul Grimaldi Coopers & Lybrand

Ann Haendel

National Center for Health Services Research &

Health Care Technology Assessment

Frank Holden

U.S. Veterans Administration

Boston, MA

Charles Hollingsworth National Institutes of Health

Susan D. Horn

The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Lisa Iezzoni

Boston University

Stephen Jencks

Health Care Financing Administration

Janet Kline

Congressional Research Service

Doris Konicki

American Medical Association

Ephraim Levin

National Institutes of Health

Rachael Levinson

National Institutes of Health

Janet Lundy

Congressional Research Service

Max Magner

E.I. du Pent de Nemours & Co.

Linda Magno

Health Care Financing Administration

Susan Marcus

Veterans' Administration

Perry Pt., MD John E. Marshall

National Center for Health Services Research &

Health Care Technology Assessment

David McCallum

Georgetown University Medical Center

Stephanie Mensh

American Academy of Ophthalmology

Frederick C. Miller

Georgetown University Medical Center

Dianne Milstead

Health Care Financing Administration

R. Curtis Morris

University of California at San Francisco

Steven Morris

Health Care Financing Administration

Lee Mortenson

Association of Community Cancer Centers

Philip Nathanson

Health Care Financing Administration

William Nicholls

Health Care Financing Administration

James F. O'Donnell

National Institutes of Health

Joseph Onek Onek, Klein, & Farr Julian Pettingill

Congressional Research Service

Harold Pincus

National Institute of Mental Health

Lisa Potetz

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Ellen Pryga

American Hospital Association

Deena Puskin

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Guy S. Reeder Mayo Clinic Martin Resnick

Case Western Reserve University

Jamie Reuter

Congressional Research Service

William Robinson

Bureau of Health Professions

Wavne Roe

Health Industry Manufacturers' Association

Elizabeth S. Rolph The Rand Corp. Donald Sickora

Health Care Financing Administration

Herbert Silverman

Health Care Financing Administration

Brenda Sims

Delaware Review Organization

Helen Smits

University of Connecticut Health Center

William Sobaski

Health Care Financing Administration

Barbara Starfield

Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public

Health

Bruce Steinwald

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Roger Straw

General Accounting Office

Bruce Stuart

Pennsylvania State University

Susanne Stoiber

National Institutes of Health

Sherry Terrell

Health Care Financing Administration

Boyd Thompson

American Medical Care Review Association

Michael Vaida

California Hospital Association

Susan Van Gelder General Accounting Office

Douglas Wagner

George Washington University

Peter Welch

Office of Management and Budget

Norman Welford

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Richard Wild

Health Care Financing Administration

Mary Kay Willian

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Patricia Willis

Health Care Financing Administration

Jerome Yates

National Institutes of Health

Donald Young

Prospective Payment Assessment Commission

Wanda W. Young

Blue Cross of Western Pennsylvania

Gerald Zelinger

Health Care Financing Administration

HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sidney S. Lee, *Committee Chair* President, Milbank Memorial Fund New York, NY

H. David Banta

WHO Consultant and Director of Project on Future Health Technologies

The Netherlands

Rashi Fein Professor

Department of Social Medicine and Health Policy

Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA

Harvey V. Fineberg

Dean

School of Public Health Harvard University Boston, MA

Melvin Glasser'

Director

Health Security Action Council

Washington, DC

Patricia King Professor

Georgetown Law Center

Washington, DC

Joyce C. Lashof

Dean

School of Public Health

University of California-Berkeley

Berkeley, CA

Alexander Leaf Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital

Boston, MA

Frederick Mosteller Professor and Chair

Department of Health Policy and Management

School of Public Health Harvard University

Boston, MA

Norton Nelson

Professor

Department of Environmental Medicine New York University Medical School

New York, NY

Robert Oseasohn Associate Dean

University of Texas-San Antonio

San Antonio, TX

Nora Piore

Senior Fellow and Advisor to the President

United Hospital Fund of New York

New York, NY

Dorothy P. Rice Regents Lecturer

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California-San Francisco

San Francisco, CA

Richard K. Riegelman Associate Professor

George Washington University

School of Medicine Washington, DC

Walter L. Robb

Vice President and General Manager

Medical Systems Operations

General Electric Co. Milwaukee, WI

Frederick C. Robbins

President

Institute of Medicine Washington, DC

Rosemary Stevens

Professor

Department of History and Sociology of Science

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA

^{&#}x27;Until October 1983