Oil and Gas Technologies for the Arctic and Deepwater

May 1985

NTIS order #PB86-119948

Oil and Gas Technologies for the Arctic and Deepwater **Recommended** Citation:

Oil and Gas Technologies for the Arctic and Deepwater (Washington, DC: U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, OTA-O-270, May 1985).

Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 85-600528

For sale by the Superintendent of Documents U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402

Foreword

Nearly 2 billion acres of offshore public domain is owned by the United States adjacent to Alaska and the lower 48 States. Much of the Nation's future domestic petroleum supply is expected to come from this area. Areas of highest potential apparently occur in deeper water and in the Arctic where operating conditions are severe, development costs high, and financial risks immense. As the pace of exploration increases in these ' 'frontier' regions, questions arise about the technologies needed to safely and efficiently explore and develop oil and gas in harsh environments.

The Office of Technology Assessment undertook this assessment at the joint request of the House Committees on Interior and Insular Affairs and on Merchant Marine and Fisheries. The study explores the range of technologies required for exploration and development of offshore energy resources and assesses associated economic factors and financial risks. It also evaluates the environmental factors related to energy activities in frontier regions and considers important government regulatory and service programs.

In March 1985, the Secretary of the Interior announced the Administration's proposed new 5-year offshore leasing program that will determine the pace of oil and gas exploration in Federal offshore waters through 1991. The proposed leasing schedule will be under review by the 99th Congress, with final approval slated for the Summer of 1986. OTA's report on Arctic and deepwater oil and gas is intended to provide a timely and useful reference for the Congress as it reflects on the Department of the Interior's proposed program.

OTA is grateful to the Offshore Technologies Advisory Panel and participants in OTA's workshops for their help in the assessment. Splendid cooperation was received from a number of executive agencies during the course of the study, including the Minerals Management Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. Coast Guard. Special thanks go to the Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center of the University of Alaska and its Director, David Hickok, for field assistance to OTA in Alaska.

John H. Libbou

JOHN H. GIBBONS Director

Oil and Gas Technologies for the Arctic and Deepwater Advisory Panel

Dr. John H. Steele, *Chairman* Director, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

Jacob Adams President Arctic Slope Regional Corp.

Larry N. Bell Vice President Arco Oil & Gas Co.

Charles L. Blackburn Executive Vice President Exploration and Development Shell Oil Co.

Sarah Chasis Senior Staff Attorney Natural Resources Defense Council

Clifton E. Curtis Executive Vice President The Oceanic Society

Gordon Duffy Secretary, Environmental Affairs State of California

Walter R. Eckelmann Senior Vice President Sohio Petroleum Corp.

William Fisher State Geologist State of Texas

Robert Grogan Associate Director for Governmental Coordination Office of the Governor of Alaska Frank J. Iarossi President Exxon Shipping**c 0**.

Don E. Kash Director Science and Public Policy Program University of Oklahoma

Paul Kelly* Vice President, Government Relations Rowan Companies, Inc.

Dan R. Motyka Vice President-Frontier Gulf Canada Resources, Inc.

C. Robert Palmer Board Chairman and President Rowan Companies, Inc.

Sandford Sagalkin* * Counsel for North Slope Burrough

Stanley Stiansen Vice President American Bureau of Shipping

Wallace Tyner Professor Purdue University

Michael T. Welch Vice President Citibank, N.A.

[•] Represented C. Robert Palmer at panel meetings • "Represented Clifton E Curtis at panel meetings

OTA Project Staff—Oil and Gas Technologies for the Arctic and Deepwater

John Andelin, Assistant Director, OTA Science, Information, and Natural Resources Division

Robert W. Niblock, Oceans and Environment Program Manager

Project Staff

James W. Curlin, Project Director

Peter Johnson, Senior Associate

Cheryl Dybas Nan Harllee Daniel Kevin

Candice Stevens William Westermeyer

Administrative Staff

Kathleen A. Beil Jacquelynne R. Mulder Kay Patteson

Contributing Staff

Richard Rowberg, Program Manager, Energy and Materials Program Jenifer Robison, Energy and Materials Program Dennis Dobbins, Health Program

Contractors/Consultants

Edward Horton, Deep Oil Technology Virgil Keith, ECO Francois Lampietti Leslie Marcus Peter Noble, Marine Technology Corp. Denzil Pauli Robert Schulze Dr. James Smith, University of Houston Robert Visser, Belmar Engineering

Other Contributors

Thomas Albert North Slope Borough

Vera Alexander Professor University of Alaska

Alan A. Allen Spiltec

Jean Audibert Earth Technology Corp.

Robert G. Bea Senior International Consultant PMB Systems Engineering, Inc.

David Benton Benton & Associates

Ken Blenkhern Amoco Production Co.

Ted Bourgoyne Professor Louisiana State University

Katherine R. Boyd American Petroleum Institute

Robert E. Bunney National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Gus Cassity Placid Oil Co.

Bruce Clardy Sohio Petroleum Corp.

Gordon Cox U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab

Charles Ehler National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Mark Fraker Sohio Alaska Petroleum Co.

John Norton Garrett International Petroleum Consultant Ronald L. Geer Senior Mechanical Engineering Consultant Shell Oil Co.

John Gregory Minerals Management Service

Richard Griffiths U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

John Haeber Vetco Offshore, Inc.

Dillard Hammett Sedco, Inc.

Jim Hecker Terris and Sunderland

R. P. Hermann Sonat Offshore Drilling, Inc.

David Hickok Professor University of Alaska

Sharon Hillman Sohio Alaska Petroleum Co.

W. E. Holland Exxon, U.S.A.

Baxter D. Honeycutt Arco Oil and Gas Co.

Jerry Imm Minerals Management Service

James K. Jackson American Petroleum Institute

Leland A. Johnson President Arctic Slope Consulting Engineers

Graham King Arco Oil and Gas Co.

Joseph H. Kravitz National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Jack Lewis Minerals Management Service

Gary Lore Minerals Management Service

Bonnie A. McGregor U.S. Geological Survey

D. B. McLean Gulf Canada Resources, Inc.

Jim Mielke Congressional Research Service

David Norton Professor University of Alaska

Paul O'Brien Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation

John Oktollik Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission

Raj Phansalkar Conoco, Inc.

Richard Pomfret Exxon International Co.

Jim Ray Shell Oil Co.

Joe Riva Congressional Research Service

William M. Sackinger Professor University of Alaska John Shanz Congressional Research Service

William H. Silcox Standard Oil of California

Walt Spring Mobil Research and Development Corp.

Tim Sullivan Minerals Management Service

Rod Swope Alaskan Governor's Office

Pete Tebeau Lieutenant Commander U.S. Coast Guard

Ed Tennyson Minerals Management Service

J. Kim Vandiver Professor Massachusetts Institute of Technology

R. H. Weaver Exxon Corp.

Robert Wilson U.S. General Accounting Office

Doug Wolfe National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

John Wolfe, Jr. Conoco Oil Co.