# **Appendixes**

# Acknowledgments; Pan American Health Organization Liaison Group; **OTA Health Program Advisory Committee**

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

The development of this technical memorandum was greatly aided by the advice and review of a number of people in addition to the Pan American Health Organization Liaison Group, and the Health Program Advisory Committee. OTA staff would like to express their appreciation especially to the following individuals:

Thomas Aitken Yale University Maj. Richard G. Allen United States Army Medical Research Command Karen Bell

National Academy of Sciences

Mark S. Beaubien Fogarty International Center

Mark Bover Harvard University

Louise Brinton National Cancer Institute

Gloriella Calvo

The Gorgas Memorial Institute

Cdr. Patrick Carney Navy Research & **Development Command** 

Richard Cash Harvard University

Barnett Cline

Tulane University School of Medicine

William Collins

Centers for Disease Control

Joseph A. Cook

The Edna McConnell Clark Foundation

Gustave Dammin Harvard University William Dietz

Col. Carter Diggs Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Clinical Research Center

Jose Renan Esquivel Medical Director Children's Hospital Panama City

Phyllis Eveleth

Fogarty International Center

Allan Fleener

General Accounting Office

Gaspar Garcia de Paredes Minister of Health

Republic of Panama Robert J. A. Goodland The World Bank

Col. Michael Groves Walter Reed Army

Institute of Research Sherman Hinson

U.S. Department of State

Rod Hoff

Harvard University **Donald Hopkins** 

Centers for Disease Control

Abraham Horowitz

Pan American Health Organization

Lee Howard

Pan American Health Organization

Leon Jacobs

The Gorgas Memorial Institute

Geoffrey Jeffries

Centers for Disease Control

Karl M. Johnson Fort Detrick William Jordan

> National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Irving Kagan

Centers for Disease Control

Robert Kaiser

Centers for Disease Control

Cpt. James F. Kelly Commanding Officer Naval Medical Command

Dieter Koch-Weser Harvard University

Richard Kreutzer

Youngstown State University

Austin J. MacInnis

Editor, the Journal of Parasitolog, University of California, Los Angeles

Arnold Monto

University of Michigan

Russell Morgan

National Council for International Health

Ladene Newton

Centers for Disease Control

Clifford Pease

Agency for International Development

Martha G. Peck **Executive Director** 

Bourroughs-Wellcome Fund

CO]. C. J. Peters **USAMRIID** Medical Division

William C. Reeves Gorgas Memorial Laboratory

D. S. Rowe

The World Health Organization Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases

Ira Rubinoff

Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute

Col. Phillip K. Russell Director

Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Rolando E. Saenz

Gorgas Memorial Laboratory

Warren R. Sanborn

Portable Rapid Diagnostic Technology, Inc.

John E. Scanlon

American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygeine

Robert E. Shope

Yale Arboviral Research Unit

Reuel A. Stallones University of Texas

Ronald St. John

Pan American Health Organization

Jose Teruel

Pan American Health Organization

Paul Tiggert

Gorgas Memorial Institute

Ronald Vogel

University of Arizona

Kenneth Warren

The Rockefeller Foundation

Raymond H. Watten

Director

Gorgas Memorial Laboratory

Thomas Weller

Harvard University

Karl A. Western

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Kerr L. White

The Rockefeller Foundation

Roy Widdus

National Academy of Sciences

Frank S. Wignall

United States Navy

Phillip Winter

Walter Reed Army Institute

of Research

Martin Wolfe

U.S. Department of State

Martin Young

University of Florida

### PAN AMERICAN HEALTH ORGANIZATION LIAISON GROUP

OTA would like to thank the members of the group formed by the Pan American Health Organization to provide advice on OTA's study of the Gorgas Memorial Laboratory and the main project on the status of research for tropical medicine in tropical America.

Gloria Coe, Ph. D. Liaison Group Coordinator

Dr. Francisco J. Lopez-Antunano

Dr. Fernando A. Beltram Hernandez

Dr. George Alleyne

Dr. Pedro Acha

Dr. Gabriel Schmunis Dr. Juan Cesar Garcia

Dr. Rafael Cedillos

Mr. Jorge Pena Mohr

## **HEALTH PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

Sidney S. Lee (Committee Chair) Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center

Carroll L. Estes

Department of Social and

Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Rashi Fein

Department of Social Medicine

and Health Policy

Harvard Medical School

Melvin A. Glasser Health Security Action Council-Committee for National Health Insurance

Patricia King Georgetown Law Center

Joyce C. Lashof

School of Public Health

University of California, Berkeley

Margaret Mahoney
The Commonwealth Fund

Frederick Mosteller

Department of Health Policy

and Management

School of Public Health

Harvard University

Dorothy P. Rice

Department of Social

and Behavioral Sciences

School of Nursing

University of California, San Francisco

Richard K. Riegelman George Washington University School of Medicine

Walter L. Robb

Medical Systems Operations
General Electric
Milwaukee, Wis.

Frederick C. Robbins
Institute of Medicine

Rosemary Stevens

Department of History

and Sociology of Science
University of Pennsylvania