Useful Links:

Department of Near Eastern Studies

Program in Near Eastern Studies

Office of International Programs

OIP Study Abroad

This space is in need of your pictures from your study abroad experiences! If you have a picture you'd like me to post here, please e-mail it to gjbell@princeton.edu.

Thanks!

 

Summer Arabic Study
Information for Princeton Students
Prepared by Greg Bell, Lecturer in Arabic, Department of Near Eastern Studies
____________________________________________________________________


Important Funding Dates:

Undergraduates: March 1, 2015 - apply via the SAFE portal (http://www.princeton.edu/studentfunding/) by this date to be sure of your best chance for funding. 

Graduates: Observe February 15, 2015 - strict deadline for PIIRS funding for graduate-student study abroad(http://www.princeton.edu/piirs/funding/graduate/).


Funding and General Information

For those of you interested in study abroad, you will first want to consult the website of Princeton’s Office of International Programs (www.princeton.edu/oip), and its Study Abroad Program page at www.princeton.edu/oip/sap. You will find important information there about both funding opportunities and University credit.  Please note, if you want to earn Princeton credit for courses taken in any summer program, you must consult the Office of International Programs well before you head off to study at these programs.

Princeton’s Program in Near Eastern Studies funds summer study of Near Eastern languages for both undergraduate and graduate students.  The PNES website is at www.princeton.edu/nep; applications are available from the PNES website www.princeton.edu/nep or at the NES office in 110 Jones Hall.

Another source of funding is the federal Critical Language Study fellowship, administered by the American Councils for International Education.  Information on this fellowship can be found at www.clscholarship.org.  (Note: The application deadline for summer 2015 CLS scholarships is Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 8:00 p.m. EST.)  Greg Bell was the academic director for the CLS program in Oman in 2010 and 2011 and Anita Husen was an administrator at the Morocco CLS program in 2011.  They can speak to you about the CLS experience, as can Princeton students who have been awarded CLS grants in the past (see Princeton Resource People, below).

Finally, be sure to look into any scholarships or funding offered by language programs themselves.  Many programs have money to help those who wish to attend them, with awards based on need and/or qualifications. This is particularly true of U.S.-based programs which tend to be costly, but which often have funding available.

If you are planning to study abroad, you might wish to consult the U.S. Government's international travel site http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/english/alertswarnings.html where you will find country-specific information, travel warnings and alerts, and lots of other information (including a section on “International Travel Safety Information for Students”).  The State Department’s travel warnings are of particular importance as the University will not fund or endorse programs in countries on the travel warning list (see http://www.princeton.edu/travel/policies/warningslist, where there is information about this policy and possible exemptions).  As of 29 October 2014, Arab countries on the warning list include Algeria, Djibouti, Iraq, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Republic of South Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.  Previous travel alerts which had been posted for Bahrain, Egypt and Tunisia seem to have been canceled, but you will need to consult the Office of International Programs about these destinations and keep abreast of developments in these countries.

General Guides to Summer Arabic Programs (Back to top)

For Arabic summer programs, both in the U.S. and abroad, two highly recommended links are:

The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) provides information about summer Arabic programs at http://www.mesa.arizona.edu/publications/newsletter/summer-programs.html.

The American Association of Teachers of Arabic (AATA) also provides a wealth of information about Arabic programs at http://www.aataweb.org/summer_programs.

Also useful may be The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) database of less commonly taught language programs at http://carla.umn.edu/lctl/db.

Programs and Princeton Resource People (Back to top)

Following is a list of programs for which Princeton students or instructors have volunteered to serve as information resources.  The people listed here will welcome inquiries from students about the programs they have attended.

Program and URL Resource People at Princeton
AALIM, Meknes, Morocco
www.aalimorocco.com
Kate Maffey '16 (kmaffey@princeton.edu)
Al-Akhawayn University, Morocco
www.aui.ma/VPAA/shss/aranas/shss-aranas-home.htm
Jill Jarvis (jjarvis@princeton.edu)
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
Rachel Webb (rwebb@princeton.edu)
Allison Wood (aewood@princeton.edu)
Jesse Young (jessey@princeton.edu)
Arabic Language Institute in Fez (ALIF), Morocco
http://www.alif-fes.com
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
Peter Tzeng ‘10 (ptzeng10@gmail.edu)
Robert Joyce (rjoyce@princeton.edu)
Stevie Peacock '16 (speacock@princeton.edu)
American University of Beirut
http://www.aub.edu.lb/fas/cames/sap/Pages/arabic_program.aspx
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
American University in Cairo (AUC)
http://www.aucegypt.edu/huss/ali/intensive/Pages/default.aspx
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
AMIDEAST (various locations including Amman, Jordan and Rabat, Morocco)
http://www.amideast.org
Daniel Teehan '17 (dteehan@princeton.edu)
Tori Rinker '16 (vrinker@princeton.edu)

Beloit College (Wisconsin)
http://www.beloit.edu/cls/program/arabic
Eric Runkel '17 (erunkel@princeton.edu)
Tarek Elsayed (telsayed@princeton.edu)
Center for Arabic Studies Abroad (CASA) http://www.utexas.edu/cola/centers/casa/ Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Nancy Coffin (ncoffin@princeton.edu)
Tom Hefter (thefter@princeton.edu)
Anita Husen (ahusen@princeton.edu)
CET, Jordan
http://cetacademicprograms.com/programs/jordan/arabic-language-jordan/
Kate Maffey '16 (kmaffey@princeton.edu)
Ryan Fulmer '16 (rfulmer@princeton.edu)
Columbia University (New York)
http://ce.columbia.edu/Summer-Sessions/Arabic-Summer-Program
Jill Jarvis (jjarvis@princeton.edu)
Critical Language Scholarship (CLS), various locations
clscholarship.org
Tyler Lawrence '16 (tylerl@princeton.edu)
Jeff Morshed (jmorshed@princeton.edu)
al-Diwan, Cairo (2 centers)
www.diwancenter.com/new/index.shtml
Eliza Stone (eliza13@princeton.edu)
Endeavor, Jordan
endeavorjordan.org
Rachel Lawrie '15 (rlawrie@princeton.edu)
IES Abroad, Rabat, Morocco
http://www.iesabroad.org/study-abroad/rabat
Tehila Wenger '15 (twenger@princeton.edu)
Jordan Language Academy, Amman
jordanla.com
Dominique Fahmy '17 (dfahmy@princeton.edu)
Middlebury College (Arabic programs at Mills College & Jordan)
http://www.middlebury.edu/ls/arabic
http://www.middlebury.edu/sa/middleeast/jordan
Rachel Lawrie '15 (rlawrie@princeton.edu)
Noor Majan Training Institute, Ibri, Oman
http://www.noormajan-institute.com
Tyler Lawrence '16 (tylerl@princeton.edu)
Jeff Morshed (jmorshed@princeton.edu)
Josh Roberts '17 (joshuaer@princeton.edu)
Qalam wa Lawh Arabic School, Rabat, Morocco
http://www.qalamcenter.com
Sammy Prentice (gracchusclxxx@gmail.com)
Qasid, Jordan
www.qasid.com
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
Becca Keener '17 (rkeener@princeton.edu)
SALAM, Oman
https://www.sqcc.org/Scholarships-0024-Fellowships/SALAM-Application.aspx
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Steve Monroe (smonroe@princeton.edu)
Jeremy Rotblat '17 (jrotblat@princeton.edu)
University of Arizona, Jordan Summer Program, Amman
http://cmes.arizona.edu/studyabroad/jordan
Kate Maffey '16 (kmaffey@princeton.edu)
University of Texas, Austin Summer Program
http://utarabicflagship.org/summer-institute
Marie Brooks '15 (mgbrooks@princeton.edu)
Univ. of Virginia/Yarmouk University, Jordan
www.virginia.edu/arabic/Yarmouk.html
Jeremy Rotblat '17 (jrotblat@princeton.edu)
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
University of Wisconsin, Madison
http://aptlii.global.wisc.edu
Morgan Robinson (mjrobins@princeton.edu)
Yemen Language Center (and other Yemen programs)
www.ycmes.org
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)

 

Other Summer Arabic Programs (Back to top)

There are many summer Arabic programs for which we do not have resource people.  The following lists a number of programs which our students may have attended, or programs which they have asked about, or programs which have contacted us.  Please note that this list is not exhaustive and does not imply any sort of endorsement.  Consult the MESA and AATA websites cited above for a full and current list of summer Arabic programs.

AALIM, Morocco  www.aalimorocco.com


Alexandria Centre for Languages, Egypt  www.acl-egypt.com

Al-Mashriq Center for Arabic Instruction, Amman, Jordan www.almashriqcenter.com

American Islamic College, Summer Intensive Arabic, Chicago, IL http://www.aicusa.edu/summerarabic/

American University of Beirut, CAMES, Summer Arabic Program  www.aub.edu.lb/fas/cames/Pages/arabic_program.aspx

American University of Sharjah Summer Intensive Arabic Programs, University City, Sharjah, United Arab
Emirates http://www.aus.edu/info/200176/international_study_and_exchange/553/study_abroad_at_aus/4

Amideast Education Abroad Programs, various locations  www.amideast.org/abroad

Arab Academy, Cairo www.arabacademy.com

Arabeya Association Language School, Cairo http://www.arabeya.org/

Arabic Overseas Flagship Program, American Councils for International Education, Alexandria, Egypt  http://flagship.americancouncils.org/index.php?lang=Arabic

Bosphore Academy Summer Intensive Program, Tunis http://bosphoreacademie.com/arabic/arabic.html

Center Sidi Bou Said for Languages, Tunis www.sidibousaidlanguages.com/en

CET Academic Programs, www.cetacademicprograms.com

CIEE, Jordan, Morocco & elsewhere, http://www.ciee.org/study-abroad/arabic

Columbia University Summer Arabic Language Program, Amman, Jordan  https://columbia.studioabroad.com/index.cfm?FuseAction=Abroad.ViewLink&Parent_ID=3E13DDC9-BCDE-E7F3-596FC9396E6D079A&Link_ID=BD5A7546-BCDE-E7F3-58466BAC161F94BB&Program_ID=10437

Defense Language Institute (Military/Goverment) www.dliflc.edu

Effat University, Saudi Arabia www.effatcollege.edu.sa

Givat Haviva Intensive Arabic, Wadi Ara region, Israel http://www.intensivearabicsemester.org/arabic-language.html

Hedeyat Institute, Cairo  http://www.hedayetinstitute.com/English/home.html

Ibn Ghazi Arabic Institute, Fez, Morocco http://www.igai-fez.com

Jordan Language Academy, Amman, Jordan  www.jordanla.com

Language Generation Center, Amman, Jordan www.lgcjo.com

Lebanese American University, New York City (NYHAC), Summer Institute www.lau.edu.lb/centers-institutes/sinarc

Middle East Institute, Washington, DC http://www.mei.edu/languages

Montana State University Sustainable Community Development Program (in conjunction with the Atlas Cultural Adventures), Zawiya Ahansal region, Central High Atlas Mountains, Morocco http://www.montana.edu/international/studyabroad/summer_programs/morocco.htmhttp://atlasculturaladventures.com/summer/

National Council on U.S.-Arab Relations, Afkar Academy, Yarmouk, Jordan http://ncusar.org/study-abroad/afkar

Palestine Summer Encounter, Bethlehem & The Holy Land Trust www.palestinesummer.org
http://www.holylandtrust.org

Selat Language Center, Amman, Jordan http://selatinstitute.com/

Sibawayh Center, Cairo www.sibawayhcenter.com/sibawayh

SINARC, Lebanese American University, Lebanon  www.lau.edu.lb/centers-institutes/sinarc

Summer Translation Institute, Western Michigan University  www.wmich.edu/languages/summertranslation

Sultan Qaboos College Arabic Program, Manah, Oman http://www.sqca.edu.om/

SWSEEL Summer Language Workshop, Indiana University  www.indiana.edu/~swseel

Tunisian ACT Center, Tunis http://www.thebeirutexchange.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=149&Itemid=112

University of Maryland Arabic Summer Institute, College Park, MD http://sllc.umd.edu/specialprograms/summerinstitute/arabic

University of Michigan Summer Programs, Ann Arbor, MI http://www.lsa.umich.edu/summer/summerprograms/summerlanguageinstitute

University of Texas Arabic Flagship Program, Austin, TX www.utarabicflagship.com

 

You Can Help Us!

Please note that all information and links were correct as of December 2011, but information and programs change.  If you have updated information or would like to share information about any summer Arabic program not listed here, please contact Greg Bell at gjbell@princeton.edu.