Useful Links:

Department of Near Eastern Studies

Program in Near Eastern Studies

Office of International Programs

OIP Study Abroad

This space is in need of your pictures from your study abroad experiences! If you have a picture you'd like me to post here, please e-mail it to gjbell@princeton.edu.

Thanks!

 

Summer Arabic Study
Information for Princeton Students
Prepared by Greg Bell, Lecturer in Arabic & Associate Director, Arabic Language Program
Department of Near Eastern Studies
____________________________________________________________________

Funding and General Information

For those of you interested in study abroad, you will first want to consult the website of Princeton’s Office of International Programs (www.princeton.edu/oip), and its Study Abroad Program page at www.princeton.edu/oip/sap. You will find important information there about both funding opportunities and University credit.  Please note, if you want to earn Princeton credit for courses taken in any summer program, you must consult the Office of International Programs well before you head off to study at these programs.

Princeton’s Program in Near Eastern Studies (www.princeton.edu/nep) funds summer study of Near Eastern languages for both undergraduate and graduate students.  You should apply through SAFE (www.princeton.edu/studentfunding), where you can also find information about other sources of funding. PNES funding applications will be available on the SAFE site from January 1 through February 28, 2014. Notification of awards will be made by the end of March.

Another source of summer funding and study is the
Critical Language Scholarships, a program of the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The CLS program is administered by the American Councils for International Education.  Information on CLS fellowships can be found at www.clscholarship.org and http://exchanges.state.gov/us/program/critical-language-scholarship-program. (Note: Application deadlines for CLS scholarships are early, so check the website early in the fall.)  Greg Bell ran the CLS program in Oman in 2010 and 2011 and can speak to you about the CLS experience, as can Princeton students who have been awarded CLS grants in the past (see Princeton Resource People, below).

Finally, be sure to look into any scholarships or funding offered by language programs themselves.  Many programs have money to help those who wish to attend them, with awards based on need and/or qualifications. This is particularly true of U.S.-based programs which tend to be costly, but which often have funding available.

If you are planning to study abroad, you should consult the U.S. Government's international travel site at www.travel.state.gov/travel/travel_1744.html where you will find country-specific information, travel warnings and alerts, and lots of other information (including a section on “International Travel Safety Information for Students”).  The State Department’s travel warnings are of particular importance due to
the University's travel policy, which states "Princeton University will not fund or sponsor undergraduate student travel to countries on the U.S. State Department Warning List or to countries where the United States has issued travel restrictions. Students who have a compelling educational reason to travel to such countries may submit a request for an individual travel exemption. The travel exemption process is a time intensive process. Travelers should allow at least four weeks for the review process." (See https://www.princeton.edu/travel/policies/warningslist/, for information about this policy.)

As of 25 November 2013, Arab countries on the warning list include Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Republic of South Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia and Yemen.  You will need to consult the Office of International Programs about these destinations and keep abreast of developments in these countries.

Please Note: On 6 November 2013, the State Department updated its specific travel warning for Egypt. (See http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_6203.html; see also http://egypt.usembassy.gov/consular/travpubl.html for regularly updated security messages about Egypt.)

General Guides to Summer Arabic Programs (Back to top)

For Arabic summer programs, both in the U.S. and abroad, two highly recommended sites are:

The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) provides information about summer Arabic programs at several places on their website, including http://www.mesa.arizona.edu/publications/newsletter/summer-programs.html, http://web.sbs.arizona.edu/project/mesasearch/search.php, and http://www.mesa.arizona.edu/resources/links.html#study-abroad.

The American Association of Teachers of Arabic (AATA) also provides a wealth of information about Arabic programs at http://www.aataweb.org/summer_programs.

Also useful are the following sites:

The National Middle East Language Resource Center's Arabic section and, in particular, their link to "Making the Most of Study Abroad" at http://nmelrc.org/Arabic.

The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) database of less commonly taught language programs at http://carla.umn.edu/lctl/db.

Programs and Princeton Resource People (Back to top)

Following is a list of programs for which Princeton students or instructors have volunteered to serve as information resources.  The people listed here will welcome inquiries from Princeton students about the programs they have attended.

Program and URL Resource People at Princeton
Al-Akhawayn University, Morocco
http://www.aui.ma/en/shss/intensive-arabic-summer-program.html
Chloe Bordewich '12 (cbordewich@gmail.com)
Sascha Brown '14 (csbtwo@princeton.edu)
Katrina Bushko '14 (kbushko@princeton.edu)
Sophie Giguere '15 (sgiguere@princeton.edu)
Ethan Jamnik '15 (ejamnik@princeton.edu)
Jill Jarvis (jjarvis@princeton.edu)
Uchechi Kalu '14 (ukalu@princeton.edu)
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
Marquito Rodriguez '14 (mdrodrig@princeton.edu)
Rachel Webb '14 (rwebb@princeton.edu)
Najia Zahir '15 (nzahir@princeton.edu)
Grace Zhu '12 (manyunzhu@gmail.com)
Arabic Language Institute in Fez (ALIF), Morocco
http://www.alif-fes.com
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
Peter Tzeng ‘10 (ptzeng10@gmail.edu)
American University of Beirut
http://www.aub.edu.lb/fas/cames/sap/
Pages/arabic_program.aspx
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
American University in Cairo (AUC)
http://www.aucegypt.edu/huss/ali/
intensive/Pages/default.aspx
Raphael Balsam '12 (prbalsam@gmail.com)
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
David Lennington (dlenning@princeton.edu)
AMIDEAST (various locations)
http://www.amideast.org
Colin Valentine '14 (cmvalent@princeton.edu)
Beloit College (Wisconsin)
http://www.beloit.edu/cls/program/arabic
Tarek Elsayed (telsayed@princeton.edu)
Center for Arabic Studies Abroad (CASA) http://www.utexas.edu/cola/centers/casa/ Raphael Balsam '12 (prbalsam@gmail.com)
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Chloe Bordewich '12 (cbordewich@gmail.com)
Nancy Coffin (ncoffin@princeton.edu)
Kevin Donahue '12 (kevindonahue90@gmail.com)
Kevin Mazur (kevin.a.mazur@gmail.com)
CET, Jordan
http://cetacademicprograms.com/programs/jordan/arabic-language-jordan/
Amanda Swenson '14 (aswenson@princeton.edu)
Center for International Learning (Muscat, Oman)
http://www.omancenter.org
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Columbia University (New York)
http://ce.columbia.edu/Summer-Sessions/
Arabic-Summer-Program
Jill Jarvis (jjarvis@princeton.edu)
Critical Language Scholarships (various sites) www.clscholarship.org Nadirah Mansour '14 (nadirah.mansour@gmail.com)
Damascus University (Syria)
http://damasuniv.edu.sy/english
Kevin Mazur (kevin.a.mazur@gmail.com)
al-Diwan, Cairo (2 centers)
www.diwancenter.com/new/index.shtml
Brendan Barrett '12 (grinanbarrett181@gmail.com)
Eliza Stone '13 (eliza13@princeton.edu)
Robert Stone '14 (rlstone@princeton.edu)
Effat University, Saudi Arabia
www.effatcollege.edu.sa
Amina Igeh '12 (amina.igeh@gmail.com)
Fawakih (Fairfax, VA)
www.fawakih.com
Hisham Mahmoud (hisham@fawakih.com)
Middlebury College (programs at Mills College & Jordan)
http://www.middlebury.edu/ls/arabic
http://www.middlebury.edu/sa/middleeast/jordan

Raphael Balsam '12 (prbalsam@gmail.com)
Elizabeth Banes '16 (ebanes@princeton.edu)
Warren Crandall '15 (wscranda@princeton.edu)

Noor Majan Training Institute (Ibri, Oman)
http://www.noormajan-institute.com
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Palestine Summer Encounter & The Holy Land Trust, Bethlehem
www.palestinesummer.org
http://www.holylandtrust.org
Lucie Wright '14 (clwright@princeton.edu)
Qalam wa Lawh Arabic School, Rabat, Morocco
http://www.qalamcenter.com
Tal Eisenzweig '12 (teisenzw@princeton.edu)
Qasid, Jordan
www.qasid.com
(See scholarship opportunity at:
http://www.qasid.com/qasid-scholarship-program)
Rahji Abdurehman '15 (rabdureh@princeton.edu)
Alexandra Buckey (abuckey@princeton.edu)
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)
Amanda Swenson '14 (aswenson@princeton.edu)
Stephanie Teeple '14 (stephanieteeple@gmail.com)
Colin Valentine '14 (cmvalent@princeton.edu)
SALAM, Oman
http://www.sqcc.org/scholarships-fellowships
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Kevin Donahue '12 (kevindonahue90@gmail.com)
Sibawayh Center, Cairo
www.sibawayhcenter.com/sibawayh
Hisham Mahmoud (hisham@princeton.edu)
University of Arizona in Jordan (Amman, Jordan)
http://global.arizona.edu/study-abroad/program/arizona-jordan
Kate Maffey '16 (kmaffey@princeton.edu)
Univ. of Virginia/Yarmouk University, Jordan
www.virginia.edu/arabic/Yarmouk.html
Greg Bell (gjbell@princeton.edu)
Kevin Donahue '12 (kevindonahue90@gmail.com)
Maria Nelson '14 (mhnelson@princeton.edu)
University of Wisconsin, Madison
http://aptlii.global.wisc.edu
Morgan Robinson (mjrobins@princeton.edu)
Yemen Language Center (and other Yemen programs)
www.ycmes.org
Nathan Hodson (nhodson@princeton.edu)

 

Other Summer Arabic Programs (Back to top)

There are many summer Arabic programs for which we do not have resource people.  The following lists a number of programs that students have asked about or that have contacted us.  Please note that this list is not exhaustive, nor does it imply any sort of endorsement.  Consult the MESA and AATA websites cited above for a full and current list of summer Arabic programs.

Alexandria Centre for Languages, Alexandria, Egypt  www.acl-egypt.com

American International Middle East North Africa (AIM) Tahrir Program, Cairo, Egypt http://www.aim-egypt.com/tahrir.php

American University of Beirut, CAMES, Summer Arabic Program  www.aub.edu.lb/fas/cames/Pages/arabic_program.aspx

Amideast Education Abroad Programs, various locations  www.amideast.org/abroad

Arab Academy, Cairo www.arabacademy.com

Arab American Language Institute in Morocco (AALIM), Meknes, Morocco  www.aalimorocco.com

Arabeya Language School, Cairo http://www.arabeya.org/

Arabic Overseas Flagship Program, American Councils for International Education, Alexandria, Egypt  http://flagship.americancouncils.org/index.php?lang=Arabic

CET Academic Programs, www.cetacademicprograms.com

CIEE, Jordan, Morocco & elsewhere, http://www.ciee.org/study-abroad/arabic

Columbia University Summer Arabic Language Program, Amman, Jordan  https://columbia.studioabroad.com/index.cfm?FuseAction=Abroad.ViewLink&Parent_ID=3E13DDC9-BCDE-E7F3-596FC9396E6D079A&Link_ID=BD5A7546-BCDE-E7F3-58466BAC161F94BB&Program_ID=10437

Defense Language Institute (Military/Government) www.dliflc.edu

Hedeyat Institute, Cairo  http://www.hedayetinstitute.com/English/home.html

Ibn Ghazi Arabic Institute, Fez, Morocco http://www.igai-fez.com

Jordan Language Academy, Amman  www.jordanla.com
(Details about JLA's Summer 2013 program at http://www.jordanla.com/2012/JLASummer2013.pdf)

Middle East Institute, Washington, DC http://www.mei.edu/languages

Moroccan Center for Arabic Studies, Rabat, Morocco http://mcas-arabic.com

National Council on U.S.-Arab Relations, partners with various programs throughout the Arab world http://ncusar.org/study-abroad

O-M-D-A School of Languages, Sfax, Tunisia www.omda-school.com

SINARC, Lebanese American University, Lebanon  www.lau.edu.lb/centers-institutes/sinarc

Sultan Qaboos College for Teaching Arabic to Non-Native Speakers, Manah, Oman (URL to be posted soon)

Summer Translation Institute, Western Michigan University  www.wmich.edu/languages/summertranslation

SWSEEL Summer Language Workshop, Indiana University  www.indiana.edu/~swseel

University of Texas Arabic Flagship Program, Austin, TX www.utarabicflagship.com

 

You Can Help Us!

Please note that the information was updated on 28 May 2013, but information and programs change.  If you have updated information or would like to share information about any summer Arabic program not listed here, please contact Greg Bell at gjbell@princeton.edu.