Art of Science 2010 Gallery

About | Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3

Study the science of art and the art of science.
--Leonardo da Vinci

The Art of Science exhibition explores the interplay between science and art. These practices both involve the pursuit of those moments of discovery when what you perceive suddenly becomes more than the sum of its parts. Each piece in this exhibition is, in its own way, a record of such a moment.

This is the fourth Art of Science competition hosted by Princeton University. The 2010 competition drew more than 115 submissions from 20 departments. The exhibit includes work by undergraduates, faculty, research staff, graduate students, and alumni.

The 45 works chosen for the 2010 Art of Science exhibition represent this year’s theme of “energy” which we interpret in the broadest sense. These extraordinary images are not art for art’s sake. Rather, they were produced during the course of scientific research. Entries were chosen for their aesthetic excellence as well as scientific or technical interest.

We thank all those who submitted their work to this year’s competition. We are inspired by the breadth of their creativity as expressed both in their scientific research and in the artistic fruits of that research.

We are grateful to our sponsors, without whose support this competition could not have taken place: Andlinger Center for Energy and Environment, the Lewis Center, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, the Office of the Dean for Research, the Princeton Art Museum, and the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the David A. Gardner '69 Fund in the Humanities Council.

Special thanks also to our distinguished panel of judges: David Dobkin, Dean of the Faculty; Emmet Gowin, Professor of Visual Arts; Paul Muldoon, Chair of the Lewis Center for the Arts; James Steward, Director of the Art Museum; and Shirley M. Tilghman, President.

Thanks also to the many people who contributed to this massive effort: Marguerite d'Aprile-Smith, Luis Armas, Janine Braude, Elliott Chenoweth, Fanny Chouinard, Andrea Clay, Paul Csogi, Greg Czechowicz, Michael DeAngelis, John DeLooper, Jim Elbrecht, Chris Emery, Karla Ewalt, Christine Fairsmith, Carlo Fernandez, Karen Flamard, Christine Gage, Linda Geraci, Natalie Guo, Christina Gupfinger, Caroline Harris, Meg Holland, Kelly Huschke, Susan Kalmbach, Nicola Knipe, Elizabeth Lemoine, Christine Lian, Laura Lilly, Eric Litostansky, Michael Littman, Peter Lubell-Doughtie, Kitta Macpherson, Andrea Mameniskis, Emily Margolis, Bill Merritt, James Morgan, Hilary Parker, Niurka Peralta, Erik Perry, Eric Quinones, Candy Reed, Carol Rigolot, Leona Rosso-Dzugan, Matt Salganik, Steven Schultz, Randall Setlock, Ruth Stevens, Annette Tate, Susan Trappanese, Evelyn Tu, Patti Wieser, Evan Younger, Bill Zeller and Alice Zheng.

-- 2010 Art of Science organizers: Andrew Zwicker, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory; Adam Finkelstein, Department of Computer Science; and Teresa Riordan, School of Engineering and Applied Science. We are also grateful for the help and advice of the founding members organizers from 2005 and 2006: Andrew Moore, Alex Halderman, Kati Lovasz, Adam Finkelstein, Jonathan Harris and Perry Cook.

About | 2010 Gallery | 2009 Gallery | 2006 Gallery | 2005 Gallery | Press | Contact

Design by Jonathan Harris and Grady Klein.