Princeton awards five honorary degrees

June 1, 2004 1:12 p.m.

Princeton University awarded honorary degrees on June 1 to five distinguished individuals for their contributions in the fields of education, science, arts and humanities, philanthropy and civil rights.

Princeton President Shirley M. Tilghman awarded degrees to Edward Cone, Princeton professor emeritus of music; Pablo Eisenberg, advocate for philanthropic change and social justice; Charles Kao, pioneer of fiber optical research; Nannerl Keohane, president of Duke University; and Robert Moses, educator and civil rights leader.

Honorary degree recipients are elected by Princeton's Board of Trustees. A trustee committee solicits nomination from the entire University.

More details are available in a news release.

Contact: Lauren Robinson-Brown (609) 258-3601