President Eisgruber appoints search committee for new dean of the college

President Christopher L. Eisgruber has formed a committee to search for a successor to Valerie Smith, who is stepping down as Princeton's dean of the college at the end of the academic year to become president of Swarthmore College.  

Deborah Prentice, Princeton's dean of the faculty, will chair the committee. Faculty members on the committee are Yelena Baraz, assistant professor of classics; Sandra Bermann, master of Whitman College, Cotsen Professor of the Humanities and professor of comparative literature; Andrew Houck, associate professor of electrical engineering; Kosuke Imai, professor of politics and director of the Program in Statistics and Machine Learning; and Stacey Sinclair, associate professor of psychology and African American studies.

Also on the committee are undergraduate seniors Ramie Fathy and Dallas Nan. Toni Turano, senior associate dean of the faculty, is serving as secretary to the committee.

The dean of the college is the senior University officer responsible for Princeton's undergraduate academic program, overseeing admission, curriculum, academic advising, academic regulations and scholastic standing as well as the services and agencies designed to promote academic development. 

The search committee is soliciting nominations and recommendations related to the dean of the college position. Faculty members and undergraduate students may contact committee members via email individually or as a group. Comments to the group address will be shared among committee members but otherwise kept confidential.

Undergraduates are invited to attend an open forum with the search committee on Wednesday, March 25, from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. in McCormick Hall, Room 101.