FACULTY AWARD: Rouse recognized for advancing women in economics

Nov. 1, 2016, 10:05 a.m.

The American Economic Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) has awarded the 2016 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award to Cecilia Rouse, dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs; the Lawrence and Shirley Katzman and Lewis and Anna Ernst Professor in the Economics of Education; and professor of economics and public affairs. Named after the first chair of CSWEP and given annually since 1998, the award honors an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession through her achievements, efforts to increase understanding of how women can advance in the profession, and/or mentoring of others.