Nassau Hall and Oval with Points

Six faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences has elected six Princeton faculty members as new members. They are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The new members from Princeton University are:

Sanjeev Arora, the Charles C. Fitzmorris Professor in Computer Science;

Orley Ashenfelter, the Joseph Douglas Green 1895 Professor of Economics;

Dalton Conley, the Henry Putnam University Professor in Sociology;

David MacMillan, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry;

Peter Ozsvath, the Henry Burchard Fine Professor of Mathematics; and

Virginia Zakian, the Harry C. Wiess Professor in the Life Sciences and professor of molecular biology.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.