Ostriker and Stone elected to National Academy of Sciences

Two Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences this year. They are among 120 new members and 30 international members chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Established in 1863, the academy now has 2,512 active members and 517 international members, who are nonvoting members of the Academy with citizenship outside the United States.

Eve Ostriker

Eve Ostriker

The newly elected members from Princeton:

  • Eve Ostriker, the Lyman Spitzer Jr. Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics, a professor of astrophysical sciences and the associate chair of the Department of Astrophysical Sciences; and
  • James Stone, the emeritus Lyman Spitzer Jr. Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics and an emeritus professor of astrophysical sciences and applied and computational mathematics at Princeton, as well as a professor in the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study.
James Stone

James Stone

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Other Princetonians to join the National Academy of Sciences in the past decade:

  • Peter Constantin, elected 2021
  • Anne Case, elected 2020
  • Jacob Lurie, elected 2020
  • Eliot Quataert, elected 2020
  • Jennifer Rexford, elected 2020
  • Suzanne Staggs, elected 2020
  • Elke Weber, elected 2020
  • Janet Currie, elected 2019
  • Helen Milner, elected 2019
  • Nieng Yan, International Member, elected 2019
  • Ali Yazdani, elected 2019
  • Sanjeev Arora, elected 2018
  • Orley Ashenfelter, elected 2018
  • Dalton Conley, elected 2018
  • David MacMillan, elected 2018
  • Peter Ozsvath, elected 2018
  • Virginia Zakian, elected 2018
  • Matias Zaldarriaga, elected 2018
  • Nima Arkani-Hamed, elected 2017
  • F. Duncan Haldane, International Member, elected 2017
  • David A. Huse, elected 2017
  • Roberto Car, elected 2016
  • Igor R. Klebanov, elected 2016
  • Adam Burrows, elected 2015
  • Angus Deaton, elected 2015
  • Howard A. Stone, elected 2014
  • Kathryn Edin, elected 2014
  • Manjul Bhargava, elected 2013
  • Susan Fiske, elected 2013
  • Juan Maldaceña, elected 2013
  • Avi Wigderson, elected 201
  • William Bialek, elected 2012
  • Pablo Debenedetti, elected 2012
  • John Groves, elected 2012
  • Nai Phuan Ong, elected 2012