Association of American Universities elects Princeton President Christopher L. Eisgruber as new vice chair, and board chair for 2024-25

Princeton University President Christopher L. Eisgruber

The Association of American Universities (AAU) has elected Princeton University President Christopher L. Eisgruber to serve as vice chair of its board of directors for 2023-24 and chair for 2024-25.

The Washington, D.C.-based association is the voice of leading research universities in the United States and Canada, representing 71 campuses. The election to vice chair, effective Oct. 31, begins a three-year appointment to AAU’s 13-member board, rotating to the roles of chair and past chair in the second and third years.

“When it comes to making the case for America’s leading research universities, and their importance to our country’s freedom and prosperity, there is no more influential voice in Washington than AAU,” Eisgruber said. “I look forward to helping ensure that the vital national role of great research universities is understood and appreciated among policymakers.”  

Through its members, AAU develops policy priorities designed to enhance higher education and America’s distinctive government-university partnership. It also promotes best practices that strengthen research universities and their contribution to American society.

Eisgruber is a constitutional scholar recognized as a national leader on issues in higher education including the importance of federal support for scientific research, the enduring value of a liberal arts education, and efforts to increase socioeconomic diversity at selective colleges and universities.

In September, he joined Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona, White House Domestic Policy Council Director Neera Tanden, and five fellow higher education leaders at a White House briefing on expanding educational opportunity and diversity in higher education, sharing some of Princeton’s effective strategies.

Eisgruber succeeds as vice chair University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Chancellor Robert J. Jones, who is serving as AAU chair for the current term.