Trustees establish committee to lead search for a new president

The following is an excerpt of a letter to the Princeton University community from Robert H. Rawson, Jr., chairman of the Trustee Executive Committee. The letter is dated Friday, Sept. 22.

"Today Harold Shapiro informed the Board of Trustees that he intends the current academic year to be his last one as President of Princeton. Since he has provided such exceptional leadership for Princeton and for all of American higher education, we will be sorry to see his presidency come to an end. We Trustees now have the responsibility to appoint the best possible person as his successor.

At their meeting this afternoon, the Trustees established a special committee (to be composed of nine trustees, five faculty members, three students, and one staff member) to lead the search and to make a recommendation to the full Board concerning Princeton's next president.

The following trustees will serve on the search committee: Brent L. Henry '69, Dennis J. Keller '63, Spencer B. Merriweather '00, Heidi G. Miller '74, Robert S. Murley '72, Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk '72, Robert H. Rawson '66 (Chair), John O. Wynne '67, and Paul M. Wythes '55 (Vice Chair)."

For more information on the search committee, please view the full text of the letter .

Contact: Justin Harmon (609) 258-3601