Search committee appointed for new admission dean

President Shirley M. Tilghman has appointed a 14-member committee to search for a new dean of admission.

Fred Hargadon, dean of admission since 1988, announced this summer that he intends to retire in June.

The Dean of Admission Search Committee is being chaired by Dean of the College Nancy Malkiel. It is expected to begin meeting in early November. The plan is to begin advertising the position nationally later this fall, with an early January deadline for applications and nominations.

The other members of the committee are:

Faculty -- Jeremy Adelman, the Walter Samuel Carpenter III Professor in Spanish Civilization and Culture and professor of history; Scott Burnham, professor and chair of music; Christopher Eisgruber '83, the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School and the University Center for Human Values and director of the Program in Law and Public Affairs; Peter Meyers, professor of physics; Valerie Smith, the Woodrow Wilson Professor of Literature, professor of English and director of the Program in African American Studies; and James Sturm '79, professor of electrical engineering and interim dean (until January 2003) of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Students (listed with their home states) -- Adam Frankel '03, New York; Jacqueline Perlman '05, Florida; and Lauren Phillips '04, South Carolina.

Administrators -- Janet Dickerson, vice president for campus life; Ann Halliday GS '78, associate secretary and special assistant to the president; Robert Durkee '69, vice president for public affairs; and Katherine Rohrer GS '80, vice provost for academic programs.

The charge to the search committee is to present two or three names to Tilghman for her consideration. Those finalists also will be interviewed by the following trustees: Spencer Merriweather '00, North Carolina; Nancy Newman '78, Georgia, chair of the Committee on Student Life, Health and Athletics; Robert Rawson '66, Ohio, chair of the Executive Committee; John Wynne '67, Virginia, chair of the Committee on Academic Affairs; and Paul Wythes '55, California, vice chair of the Executive Committee and clerk of the board.

The appointment of the dean of admission will be made by the Board of Trustees on the recommendation of the president. The hope is that Tilghman will be ready to make a recommendation by March, and that the new dean will be in place next summer.

Contact: Lauren Robinson-Brown (609) 258-3601